Dlosordo
walking chicago: history in footsteps
2 min readSep 7, 2022

--

Walking Chicago

While I was walking in Chicago, I knew which every step I was telling a story. Not some crazy story that people will be finding cool and awesome. But a story that brings me joy, to think that I walked that part of Chicago and have a memory there. While walking I notice there is so much to look at, for example the architecture and the art that is all around the city! But those aren’t the stories that I created while walking. I’d say the story I made was the effect I had on people. I consider myself a very social person who loves learning people’s stories. So I made a little story with someone when I had a quick conversation with them while I was walking by or if I gave them a little compliment to someone walking by they could remember that. That is a story I have made that I have left in Chicago. But one story that I saw happened is all the art in Pilsen. When my group went on that walk I was very amazed at the art the people of the community were doing to show their culture. The artists were extremely talented, especially the artists who used a spray paint can to get an exact line and how they had to flick their wrist down in order for the paint not to blob on the art. I remember seeing this one memorial of a man and a woman who fall in love and the woman dies and then the man climbs a mountain in an attempt to save her life. So instead of bringing her back to life the gods make them mountains and in the art you can see the women and the man, but in the background there are the mountains that they turned into. There are also two other designs that have no meaning to the story but they looked amazing. But the most amazing part was that the whole thing was made from spray paint! Spray painting to me is very impressive and when I see all the art and graffiti around the city it is so fascinating. When I see the art in the crazy spots I wonder how did people put it there and the story behind it must be crazy. Overall walking around a big city like Chicago leaves you with so many stories and also so many questions to ask. But I am very excited to create more stories walking around the city and find the answers to my questions.

--

--