Walking in the City

Angie Li
walking chicago: history in footsteps
3 min readSep 13, 2022

I stated my walk downtown, after I got off the red line at Chicago and State. (1:34 PM) This week, I wanted to explore the heart of the city, near the magnificent mile. Almost immediately, I heard the sounds of sirens going off, and birds chirping. (1:40 PM) I have a dog at home, and seeing other dogs when I am here makes me so happy, as I had to leave him at home. I noticed a big brown dog (1:41 PM) as well as a smaller brown dog barking as he had to cross the street. (1:42 PM)

drawing of one of the dogs I saw

I saw a beautiful hotel as well, and it reminded me of a hotel in downtown Dallas, Hotel Crescent Court. (1:45 PM)

Waldorf Astoria Chicago

As I continued heading down N State St., I again encountered construction on this busy street, and was overwhelmed by the sounds of construction as well as the smells. (1:47 PM) This continued as I kept walking, and cars were starting to honk due to the streets being blocked off, (2:29 PM) and I think I got honked at as well when I crossed the street. (2:30 PM)

cars honking at the construction trucks

Map of my walk:

Reading Question- In “The Solitary Stroller and the City,” Rebecca Solnit writes, “Cities have always offered anonymity, variety, and conjunction, qualities best basked in by walking” (p. 182). How have you experienced the anonymity, variety, and conjunction of Chicago while walking?

While walking in Chicago, I have definitely experienced anonymity, variety and conjunction. When viewing the city from above, like from the Hancock Building, you see a perfectly lined city, with streets intersecting to form the city of Chicago, giving a sense of conjunction with all the neighborhoods coming together to form one great city. Once you start walking in the city, you get a feel of variety from all the different neighborhoods Chicago has to offer. People from all different backgrounds with their own stories reside in all of the wonderful communities in the city, and walking through all parts of the city lets you get an inside look on their own experiences. From neighborhoods like Pilsen and Bronzeville, you get a feel of the peoples background and what they have been through together as a community. Areas like Chinatown and Little Italy bring together people of same backgrounds, and even others as well. Going and walking through these areas also shows how common interests or backgrounds can bring people together. (171)

--

--