A Tourist in My Own City

Taylor Davis
Walking Chicago
Published in
2 min readOct 18, 2016
Looking South from the John Hancock

For the past six weeks, walking all over Chicago has opened my senses to the beauty of Chicago and will fall arriving, I simply can’t help falling in love with my city. Going into Levan Hall classroom number 307, I was pretty sure that I would learn little to none about the city that I lived in for my whole life. This course totally opened my eyes and my view of Chicago, especially after doing the TILT from one thousand feet above! From now on I enjoy exploring and wondering around the city, in fact I stopped using google maps to find the fastest way to get to my destination. So I could say by walking Chicago, it brought out the more relaxed me and creative side by getting to choose what path I take.

I n the image above is a photo taken during one of my walks along the lake shore path, and from looking at this picture alone, one would wonder why out of hundreds of photos of Chicago why did this one made it to the top. That reason goes back to immersion week watching the video about a the strings of yarn and some of the strings overlap or cross others and how in real life each person has a footprint as their mark. With looking below at different footprints of different shapes and sizes it remind me of how many people walked on this exact path and in this case be reminded on how many people been on this path, or imagining all of the footprints that we don’t see. Here show how walkable the city really is and with walking all over places I haven’t yet explored, I feel abroad as if I was a tourist.

Time-Lapse of Cloud Gate

Chicago is a city that always changes but stays the same and evolves the same as a human bean over their life. The city reflects my past as a child but my future as well for my major in Finance. At the same time the city reflects the people who live there. Chicago has made me the creative, diverse, unique adventurer that I am today.

--

--