Big Bowls and Grills

Saji Rodman
Walking Chicago
Published in
3 min readOct 11, 2016

My walk began around 11:30 am when I was going to meet friends for lunch that were in town for the weekend. We had made plans to go to Bandera a southwestern restaurant on Michigan avenue.

I took the red line and got off at Grand. At 11:53 while walking under Michigan avenue I was looking around for something red to match the first of my colors. As I was looking around I spotted a red water silo on top of a building. I received some weird looks as I held a paint chip to the sky and tried to get both objects in focus. It smelled while taking this photo because I was standing next to a few dumpsters.

My next photo was taken at 1:25 pm after finishing lunch with my friends. As we went our separate ways I spotted blue scooters inside of an AT&T store on Michigan avenue. I’m not sure why the store had scooters in it, but I thought it was interesting. Just down the street I noticed a few kids selling candy to raise money for their football team. And a man dressed in all silver standing on a podium pretending to be a statue.

Thirteen minutes later at 1:38 pm I was walking down Ohio street. When I noticed a Chinese and Thai restaurant called Big Bowl. It had a giant red bowl with chop sticks hanging off of the building. The food smelled amazing and it looked packed inside so I assume the food is good and will for sure be returning.

Just down the street from big bowl I took my favorite photo of the day when I saw these three giant blue smiley faces that read love me on the side of a building. I found myself smiling more after taking this picture I think this piece of artwork has a very positive impact on the community. I have only come to this part of downtown once since coming to DePaul and after today's walk I think its my favorite part of the city.

While walking back to the Grand stop I noticed another giant red object hanging off of a building. This red grill happened to be marking the Webster Grill restaurant. I do not know why all the restaurants on Ohio street use over hanging objects but I like it and I think all restaurants should have hanging objects outside.

What is mappable? What is un-mappable?

For something to be mappable, it must be predictable. Being able to predict a location makes it mappable, it must have a schedule. Streets are mappable because buildings are static they do not move and can be located easily. Compared to people and animals, because they move around frequently and do not do the same thing every day. I do not believe in things being un-mappable. Some locations are more difficult to map then others, but given enough time everything can be mapped.

--

--