Don’t Get Tide Down

Taylor Davis
Walking Chicago
Published in
6 min readSep 27, 2016
Well you’re a little lake to be starting now

2:20 pm, I begin my walk on a warm sunny Saturday with the high of 75 degrees and a low of just 68 degrees. I find myself standing in the garden along side the Sydney R. Marovitz Golf Course.

2:25 pm, While observing the garden, I noticed the beginning of fall on how the garden’s plants were slowly dying with little areas of life. The interesting point is when looking at this view the first thing that grabbed my attention was the yellow and pink flowers instead of the lifeless plants surrounding those that are alive. In the video you can hear the insects, mostly the cicadas but also the birds chirping. Being close to the lake, I feel the breeze flowing through my hair and I heard the wind causing the trees to sway. I smell the pollen of the flowers and feel the tingle in my nose that leads to sneezing so I quickly moved on.

2:30 pm, From where I was standing, I heard the unusual sound of a violin playing in the background and so I followed the music. I ironic part is that it wasn’t bad and instead the musician was very talented. I discovered his location under a tunnel, probably because the closed sides. I imaged that the guy was practicing for an upcoming event or a test and it didn’t seem to me that he was trying to get money from the public but since the his case was open he probably wouldn’t mind the tips. I felt the need to move along because I was standing there alone watching him and that there is still a long way to go.

2:31 pm, Knowing that the lake was close I took this path you could see above. For the time of day I was overall surprised with the fact that there wasn’t a lot of people out enjoying our last warm summer weekend especially on a Saturday. With that I was happy for that I didn’t feel rushed into walking and that I could enjoy every moment and take however as long as I wanted. I could feel the breeze picking up which impacted the heat to cool down.

2:33 pm, Finally seeing the lake, I got an idea of how far I was from the city and even from the distance see how big the city is from the outskirts. In this photo I zoomed in because of the fog and that the buildings would be more noticeable. Going back to our immersion week, looking at the John Hancock building gave me the idea of how much really there is to explore in Chicago.

2:35 pm, Looking over I saw a strip of concrete leading to what you see above. I saw multiple boats and sails in the water, watching a few enter and exit the harbor. Here I had a hint of fish and seaweed mixed into one, so I didn’t stay for long. With all of the boats out, everyone was out in the lake to enjoy their last week of the boating sea-son.

2:37 pm, I decided to follow this rocky path along the lake to really enjoy the fresh air, cool breeze, and the shade from the full deep green trees on the golf course. While walking, enjoying the view of the city one in awhile a person would jog or run by maybe preparing for the upcoming marathon.

2:37 pm, As I continued looking around, this cement rock says danger no swimming and I wondered if it was placed here to warn people the danger or if the city recycled cement, cut them up into blocks and this so happens to end up at this point. The breeze began to go down and the sun started to shine.

2:39 pm, Being around the outside of the golf course, looking in to it I see how the gardeners are doing a wonderful job of keeping the grass green and freshly cut. Looking up I see the old willow trees which is my favorite tree by far. The picture I took shows the calmness and unreal type of feel on how great the city looks for this time of year. I hear the willow’s long branches flowing in the air.

2:42 pm, In the video above I took a time-lapse while walking over a couple of minutes, and get the feel of how fast of a pace I was going. Over this time the sun became hot as I feel the light hit my skin and the fact that I was no longer in the shade. At the end of the video I became close to the end of the golf course and was able to see the clubhouse as I continued to walk on by. I eventually hit a dead end as you can see on the map and went around the harbor to get back to the bike path.

3:20 pm, At this point the harbor was super long and along the way I saw multiple boat parties but the good part was I was back in the shade and the temperature lowered.

3:26 pm, The heat was the worst along this strip with the time of day it got to the point where you feel as if you’re melting. I hear more noises with people walking or running and then every once in awhile you will hear a biker ring their bell and say “on your left” and see them rush by as if they were in the tour de France. Here all you can smell is sweat.

3:34 pm, The cool things about the dirt path that not everyone seems to notice and all you have to do is simply look down. What you see ahead of you are many sizes and shapes of footprints or tracks that were there before yours. This connected me to the videos we watched on the first day. With the video of the yarn and with how the strings of yarn overlap, so can footsteps.

3:36 pm, I stopped and enjoyed the group of geese trying to cross the path with people not wanting to stop and wait.

--

--