Foundation of the City

Angel San Juan
Walking Chicago
Published in
2 min readOct 19, 2016

As someone who could not wait to move to the city of Chicago ever since he was 8 years old, I can say that I am truly blessed to start my adult life here. Chicago has always had a special place in heart ever since I was kid. Back then, the city was just a dream that I could barely grasp. But now, it is a reality that I live in and a reality that I could walk and experience. Right from day one of move-in day, I knew that this is the place where I can achieve happiness. And throughout my life, that has always been my number one goal. Even though there will always be a bump in the road in the future, I know that I can get right back up through everything because of everything that Chicago displays whether it’d be through its grandeur or its people. With that in mind, I chose this picture because I think that it represents the making and growing of Chicago through its people. Everyone has something to contribute to Chicago, a twig for everyone to inspire the wildfire that Chicago is. Which is why there are hands that seem to be nitpicking at the city. We are all creators. We are all idealists. And with those kinds of titles and skills, we are all capable of contributing to a place like Chicago to make it a better home for everyone else. With our ideas, we can build something greater than Chicago where everyone has a sense of place and belonging. Even though its the same for every city, I feel that it is stronger in Chicago because there’s division within its people whether it’d be racial or political. But through all of that, there are beautiful moments in between where you could see that people are trying to unify that division and its prominent in Chicago. For the past two months, I have experienced more intellectually and spiritually compared to the 17 years that I have lived in the suburbs. Now, that may seem like an over exaggeration, but Chicago is truly an enlightening place and I could not be any happier to be living in this city.

--

--