Glass Half Fullerton

Adam Bean
Walking Chicago
Published in
3 min readOct 5, 2016

Jacobs believes that the focal point is the lifeblood of city streets. It supplies the city with a meeting point where people can gather for events. A focal point can be anything, a fountain, a statue, anything that provides the population with a wide open area with lots of room for people to gather. When we were walking through Chicago during immersion week, one of the major focal points I noticed was the area around the Picasso statue in the Daley Plaza. People were playing on the statue along with Drake. Others were sitting at tables around the area. It was a place where all people regardless of class and social standing were welcome. Focal points are important to the city’s well being because it supplies the city with a place where you can have a sense of community. Community is what makes each city individual. If a city were to remove the focal points the city would lose sense of itself and its people would not gather not providing the city with its culture. Without a culture then there is no drive or passion from citizens of a community. Without passion a city with collapse in on itself because it would just be people with buildings not socializing. Focal points are dire for the survival of a city.

Exploration #3

The stretch of Fullerton Between Clifton and Lincoln is by far my favorite street. It was the first street I ventured down when I arrived here and I walk on it much more than any street. Fullerton supplies me with everything I need. It holds the place of my education.

The magnificent entrance to DePaul satisfies me because every time I see it I remember that I made it. Fullerton also has a transit station. The transit station offers a gateway to the rest of the city.

The most important thing that Fullerton offers is food. I have been to the McDonald’s on the corner of Fullerton and Lincoln more than I am proud of.

Walking the street is always interesting. On my walk there was a brown paper bag with something in it and a hubcap. I also ran into a dog that was being a noise little guy.

--

--