I tried to catch some fog, but I mist.

Kathleen Slifka
Walking Chicago
Published in
3 min readOct 17, 2016

Growing up in Chicago for 8 years then being told I was moving to Texas was one of the biggest moments in my life. I felt like I was being torn from my friends, family and the area that I had fallen in love with. Even though I felt such a deep sadness for leaving the state of Illinois, I knew it wouldn’t be the last time I was in Chicago.

As I signed up for classes and found the Walking Chicago class, which was one of the only ones left that still had room since I signed up so late, I chose it. One of the places that I always found myself within walking distance from was the lake. I always managed to find myself down there, whether it was for a walk for class or just because I wanted to go sit by the water. One of the reasons I think I like going to the lake is because it is a definite ending. I didn’t have an area where I could walk to the edge of something and feel free like I do at the lake. One of the reasons I chose the picture above was because it shows a warning of the impeding danger ahead, yet you can still go ahead and jump in the water if you felt like it. It made me think about moving back to Illinois for college. I took a leap of faith even though I knew there were going to be obstacles ahead of me that would change my life, for better or worse.

From Immersion week one of the things I liked to see on the walls or on things in the street was the stickers. I appreciate the stickers everywhere because it shows the freedom that people are given. The stickers that are placed around the city of Chicago remind me of myself. Each one is on its own adventure and they all have their own personality. Some are plain and simple while others are more intricate and complicated. I relate to the stickers because I am both a simple yet complicated person.

Making Chicago your own means making the city fit to you. Taking your walks and owning the streets, watching it change with you. The stickers that are placed on the street signs, or pretty much on everything in the city, shows how the people of Chicago are making it their own. I hope that I can find a sticker some day that describes me.

--

--