Lake Shore Stroll

carl rowens
Walking Chicago
Published in
3 min readOct 5, 2016

Punctuation and focal points are important to any district because those are the land marks that are going to attractive various types of people to come explore. It draws in community members and tourists to make it a desire area to live and to visit. Also when you think of a certain dis you will have a picture of those focal points in mind. When you often thing of California you think of sandy beaches and ocean water. When someone says Hawaii you think of the tropical Island and the beautiful city of Honolulu. These are a few examples of focal points strongly make up a perception of an area. Lake Shore Drives focal point is north avenue beach and Lake Michigan. These to land marks make up the identity of Lake Shore Drive and attractive various people from all around the world. Land marks are always going to give off a certain image and vibe of an area that is why its important to always pay attention to these focal point.

My favorite street in Chicago which is Lake Shore Drive. As I start my walk I see a man with a dog walking down to the train station. He is blind and he is using his dog as a guide. The old man dropped his wallet and his the dog stopped and gestured to pick it up. As I walked down fullerton ave there was a big group pf people talking and walking together. As I got closer I realized that it was a choir group catching a bus to get to their performance. They were practice a few harmonies as they got on the bus and they sounded amazing.

I keep walking passed oz park and then I saw a statue of a really abstract design. I looked like the shape of a human nose and there was water coming out of the top and art and running down into it hit the ground. It gave the surrounding area a lot of peace and harmony. I passed the statue and crossed the street into Harold Washington Play Park. I could visibly see Chicago skyline in the background. I looked around and saw children running around and playing in the park.

As I made my way across the street I could see a lot of cars and buses driving beneath me. I could hear loud screaming and yelling from different individuals on how they got cut off or that the cars are in front of them are going to slow.

The reason why Lake Shore Drive is so walkable is because of all the open space. You have a nice view of the water and also an amazing vantage point of the cities skyline. The area that you are walking in is notorious safe and has a great reputation of being on o the richer area of Chicago. The people out normally have kids or baby around so it suits people of all ages. There will be business people talking in there phones all dressed up to kids taking their dogs out on a walk. All of these different elements of Lake Shore Drive combine together to make it one of the best streets of Chicago and also my favorite street to walk on.

--

--