Old Shoes, New Place

Nia Pappas
Walking Chicago
Published in
4 min readSep 5, 2016

So, here I am, standing at the edge waiting to jump. This will turn out to be the biggest leap I will have had to make in my life so far. No more school bus rides, no more saying, “Hi,” to friends in narrow hallways, no more familiarity. I’m going to a new place, but with me I have remnants of where I have been. Old, experienced shoes in each new, curious place I step.

There’s only one way to go from here, and it’s going to have to be up. I’m a person who has been waiting for a change, and here it is, presenting itself to me like a gift perfectly wrapped under the twinkling Christmas tree with my name written on the tag dangling off the side. I’m ready to peel back the wrapping fearlessly, ready to expose the unknowable wonder of what awaits inside.

I have always been a fan of change. I get bored easily and get tired of what reoccurs. Sure, routine and habits are a good way to make up a predictable schedule, but then again, I’ve never really been a predictable person. The pavement I walk understands, just the way I do, that each day is different. Each hour is different. I have yet to encounter the same experience twice; the same person twice, for that matter. Everyday, we are older, we are more experienced, we are different. The pavement we walk doesn’t see us the same, just as we don’t see it. So, why fill your days with anticipated chores instead of untried adventures? After all, a surprise yields such a more genuine reaction than a likely outcome.

Walking is a time to reflect while getting to new places. We need to keep looking forward, but use our experiences from the past to maintain an efficient path. “Don’t look back, you’re not going that way,” is a quote I like to live by. Keep on a steady path ahead while looking at your reflection to consult the past. If you turn around you just might fall into the habit of continuing backwards. That’s why I like my rear view mirror: keep an eye (ONLY one eye — for reference) on what lies behind but focus on the road ahead.

Taking the jump and “spreading your wings” as Daedalus and Icarus did is a daunting task. Life is a series of jumps and trying to catch yourself. It’s scary. If you think differently, you’re lying. Daedalus and Icarus spent tireless hours crafting their wax wings in the hopes of one day being able to make their escape from the island on which they were trapped. Finally, their wings were complete and they were able to make their escape. Now, the rest of the story says that Daedalus and Icarus flew too close to the sun and fell to deaths in the middle of the sea. No offense to the two of them, but I’d chalk that up to a win. Life is a scary thing, and it’s okay because “in the end everything will be okay. If it’s not okay, it’s not the end.” Like I said, life is a series of jumps and sometimes the view distracts you from trying to catch yourself. At least you made a scary thing beautiful, even for a short time.

There is beauty in everything; you might need to look a little closer. From the garbage rolling down the street in the wind as the cars pass by to majestic skyline to the rising sun…

Taking a few extra minutes to walk a scenic route was the best idea I had ever made on a Thursday morning. Usually in the mornings I plan efficient routes to make it to my destination on time. This particular morning, I had decided to take my time. As Ferris Bueller would say, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it,” and I had done just that. On my scenic route, I happened to catch this beautiful view and I’m so glad I did.

This week has been the most fun filled and adventure packed week I’ve had in a long time. I go to know so many new people. I got to see so many new places. I even got to see people and places I had already known with a new perspective. In the end, that’s what we’re left with: how we see things. The lens through which I see the world has been refocused, and I’m forever grateful. I can’t wait for what else is to come.

--

--