Stuck in Rotation

Saji Rodman
Walking Chicago
Published in
5 min readSep 28, 2016

--

8:00 pm- I’m just leaving my room it was supposed to be colder tonight so I grabbed a sweatshirt on my way out. I have no real plan all I know is that I would like to explore navy pier. Its a Friday night and the streets of the Lincoln Park campus are scattered with a few students.

8:07 pm- I have just arrived at the Fullerton stop a board the red line and was surprised to see the train with few seats available, I decided to stand.

8:16 pm- The train ride was quick I was traveling to Grand which is only four stops away. As I climbed the stairs towards grand avenue I was met with the soothing sound of street performers.

8:22 pm- I walk past a construction site and see port holes that allow you to see safely. I thought about how cool it would be if I could have a port hole in my dorm room to look at the streets.

8:25 pm- I have been walking behind a mother father and there two children for some time now. I believe they are also going to navy pier but I am not entirely sure yet.

8:29 pm-I am still behind the family and as we go underneath the highway a car full of what I think are college drive past and as they do they roll down there windows a shout at us. Everyone jumped as we were all startled as the father regained his composure he started angrily yelling at the car and gave them the finger as the drove away.

8:35 pm- Before going to navy pier I took a detour through Jan Addams Memorial Park.

8:41 pm- I spot a group of people that I believe to be on a double date. One boy was fairly tall I would say at least 6'3" he was fairly athletic and the girl he was with was was probably 6 inches shorter then him, they were holding hands. The other couple were both short, being a short person myself I could definitely tell they were shorter then me. The second couple seemed more relaxed with each other like they had been together for some time he had his arm around her shoulder. I gave each of them names for the first couple I called the guy James and the girl Maggie the second couple was nicknamed Billy and Maddie. I thought they were good names for them.

8:55 pm- I then entered navy pier and immediately went towards the ferris wheel. On the way there I saw a carousel and a place for kids to drive boats.

9:00 pm-I bought a ticket for the ferris wheel. The line was surprisingly short and I was one of them few people to board.

9:05 pm-I made it to the top of the ferris wheel and had an amazing view of the city’s skyline. While there I noticed a phantom 4 drone flying around navy pier taking a video.

9:10 pm- My ride had finished, but nobody was coming to my door so I have decided to go around a second time

9:13 pm- This time around I took a time lapse and waved to the people in the carriage behind me.

9:20 pm- I have now realized that my door did not open last time because no one was supposed to be in my carriage. I pounded on the door to be let out and someone noticed me. I think they are letting me go around another time.

9:21 pm-I did not go around another time they brought me back and I was called an emergency evacuation. They thought it was their fault but it was mine because I stayed on for another ride. I’ll say it was worth it because the view was amazing.

9:26 pm- There is a wedding inside the glass building next to the ferris wheel I noticed the bride and groom seemed very happy together.

9:28 pm- I went to McDonalds inside navy pier to get a mcflurry. Inside they had one of those glass balls that when you touch it electricity goes to your hand. There was a large Hispanic family with young children that were running all over the place.

9:39 pm-I have left navy pier and am going to walk down Illinois street

9:41 pm- I walking behind a girl and we pass are bar a group of guys are outside. One of them says how you doing to her like Joey from friends. She looked down and powered forward with looking at them.

9:48 pm- I’ve decided to go to a cupcake place called Molly’s cupcakes. The aesthetic inside is really nice they have these really unique swings inside. I got the Peanut Butter Nutella cupcake. It was a peanut butter cake,nutella filling, nutella filling, nutella buttercream frosting, and a dusting of cocoa.

9:57 pm- I decided to order an uber because I didn’t feel comfortable taking public transportation.

10:03 pm- My driver arrived his name was Khan he was an interesting driver that did a u-turn in the middle of Columbus Dr.

10:21 pm- I was dropped of outside of Munroe thus ending my adventure.

--

--