The Color of the Wind

Saji Rodman
Walking Chicago
Published in
7 min readOct 26, 2016

--

For my final project I decided to map the color of the leaves on the trees around and in DePaul’s Lincoln Park Campus. I wanted to showcase the beauty of campus during one of the nicest times of year. The purpose of this for me was to give a new perspective on the way people view neighborhoods and how you can change the way you you think by changing your perspective. When I initially started this I imagined that I knew all of there was to know about the leaves on campus and never payed them any extra attention. I was wrong. Following the colors to think about things different I began to think more about my surroundings. My adventure began as I left the Levan Center after my calculus class let out. I had prepared that morning to create my map at the loop so much backpack had everything I needed. It was chilly outside and I was only wearing a sweater, but I figured that walking would help me warm up. With some great luck the Brown Line arrived at Fullerton just as I got up the stairs. The train was nearly empty, including me there was only 7 people in out car. I got off the train at Harold Washington Library and walked down Van Buren towards Buckingham Fountain. As I got closer to the fountain I noticed it was turned off and there were very few people around. This is when I began to panic, because my original plan was to map people around the Buckingham Fountain and the Cloud Gate. When the fountain turned out to not be possible I headed towards the Bean in hopes of saving my original idea from failing. As I arrived I was stunned once again by how empty this normally packed landmark was I think it had something to do with it being cold. By this time full on panic had set in as my entire plan for my final project was no longer possible. Stressed and not sure exactly what I was going to do I decided to stop at the Cosi on Michigan Avenue to get some food and come up with an idea. While enjoying my Chicken TBM melt and lemonade I gazed out the window looking some kind of inspiration to create a map out of. The first thing I noticed was all of the trees in the North Garden of Millennium Park. That is when I had the idea of mapping the leaves of DePaul’s campus. I finished eating and started walking towards the Adams/Wabash stop. The only bad part was that work had just let out and it was packed.

I started my map by walking down Fullerton towards the quad it was then that I noticed most of the leaves on campus were yellow or green. As I walked through the quad I marked each of the trees. Taking note of the color of their leaves and where they were. As my walk continued the trees started to take shape and form the streets on the map, streets that I walk on every day. Using the colors of the leaves to show the places that I walk every day in a different way. When I first started that map it was hard to know where to place the trees to have make sure they all fit but as I kept marking each tree it became easier as one after another they fell into place and formed a perfect picture.

One of the things that I noticed about the trees in the quad was that at the beginning of each of the intersecting paths there is a smaller yellow leaf tree. Compared to the main walkway which includes mostly tall trees with yellow or green leaves. University Hall has two red leafed trees on each side of the entrance from the quad almost like a symbol. The quad was nearly empty besides a few people wandering to and from the library. While walking through the quad I decided to stop and take a time lapse of all the students heading to there classes.

After finishing my video I walked towards Belden and you could see more variety of colors you like bright reds, oranges, and yellows that arc over the street creating a war canopy of colors. I took it in for while before I turned back up Clifton to finish the last part of my map. I saw tall green and yellow trees and a few much smaller trees with red leafs. The smell of cigarette smoke was in the air from the group of smokers outside Munroe. I believe that they were recently planted and should grow a lot before we graduate symbolizing our classes growth into adulthood.

The purpose of my map was give a different perspective to our neighborhood. I want to share the beauty of our campus and how sometimes we take it for granted when we are rushing to get to our classes on time. Coming from a background being the child of two architects I often find myself looking at buildings landscapes as away to improve beings moods without them knowing. In my map I attempted to place the trees in the same place as in the quad to represent the thought that went into designing and landscaping the campus.

I attempted to make the mood of my map seem playful and investigative. To show the playfulness of my map I included a cartouche of a a tree in the corner even if it is poorly drawn. Making the map seem more playful allows for a easier connection to the audience because it more relate able. It is also investigative because of the research I had to do on the leaves and the location of where I placed them on my map. The map also has to do heavily with observation and noticing ones surroundings. While walking I also found my favorite tree which is located on the corner of Belden and Clifton. Living in the Munroe dorm I always took the ally to class because it was faster, but ever since I found this tree I walk down Belden instead to look at it before all its leaves are gone.

It took me around ninety minutes to finish drawing my map which is entirely located in DePaul’s Lincoln Park campus. My whole process was completed within half of a day. I included a compass so that the viewer has a easy time getting their bearings. Another way I helped make the map easier to read was by making sure all of the trees colors were facing one direction. Even though I do not include the streets names the reader has a easy time finding them because of the trees outline. I made this decision because I want to tell a different story, the story of the trees not the story of the streets with trees around them. I represented the color of the leaves by writing the color of the leaves were it is located on DePaul’s campus. After selecting the block I wanted to map placing the leaves was the easiest part because I could put them in the correct position. Color is one of the main things that influenced my map and changed the way I walk around the neighborhood. The beauty that I found from creating my map has led to me taking the extra thirty seconds to a minute to embrace our campus during this time of year.

Living in Lincoln Park makes almost everything thing I need easily accessible by just walking a little ways away. When I was back home in Wisconsin I needed to drive everywhere to school, friends houses, food, entertainment. Having everything nearby is a luxury that not many people have and is certainly something I do not take for granted. Being a block away from the Red Line gives easy access to the whole city of Chicago and allows numerous chances to explore the city. Mapping my campus were I do most of my walking seemed like the perfect way to show the influence it has had on me since being in college.

My map is a representation of my fondest memories at DePaul during one of my favorite seasons. It is meant to show the beauty of campus and gives us a different perspective to look at. Even though it was not my first idea after looking around I embraced it and am believe it is a better idea then my first. The first idea was more about learning about the focal points and how people of all backgrounds still have interests in the same things. Having the ability to show that even if you are different you can still find things in common.

--

--