Thank You For Your Patience

Jake Carr
Walking The Dog is Not Working Out
2 min readFeb 15, 2023

#0007
This morning I ordered a book about accounting on Amazon. It will be delivered tomorrow. While I love the convenience is Amazon destroying my patience?

My go to Podcast is the Real AF by Andy Frisella. The Q&A episodes are the best. One thing I have learned from Andy recently is that patience is a skill. You aren’t born with it, it’s not a talent, not a trait, it is a skill.

As I was walking the dog yesterday, I found myself getting impatient. He decided it was a nice day and that we were going to visit some new parts of the neighborhood. It was taking longer than usual. At the same time I was listening to Real AF and Andy says the only way to become more patient is to do things that require patience.

If our efforts to lose weight can be attacked by the convenience of fast food, can our efforts to a patient person be impacted by the convenience of free next day shipping?

There is no scale you can step on to measure your patience, but I think we all know when we are starting to lose it. If you don’t know, ask those close to you because they know.

Take some time to recognize when the conveniences of the world are starting to impact your ability to tolerate the inconveniences you incur during your day. In the same way running might offset the drive-thru cheeseburger, taking some extra time to cook a meal tonight instead ordering from grub hub might help you workout your patience muscle.

Walking the dog might not be working out, but it is an opportunity for me to practice patience during my day.

Next day shipping is pretty awesome, but so is living in a world where people are more patient and understanding.

I can’t wait for my book on accounting to get here tomorrow. Becoming better at accounting should provide lots of opportunity for me to practice my patience.

Please share this message with someone who needs to hear it.

Click here to listen to Real AF Episode #473

--

--

Jake Carr
Walking The Dog is Not Working Out

Jake is the owner of J7, Inc. — Father, Husband, Photographer, Graphic Designer, Coach, Marketing Guy, Member of Arete Syndicate - #75HARD — www.GOJ7.com