Chasing positive energy at Wat Borom Niwat

Evan Guerra
Published in
4 min readJan 25, 2016

--

Bangkok’s must see Klong Temple Gem (Map)

Hi. Evan Guerra here and Welcome to another entry of Explore Bangkok. Here I record my journey to visit every Buddhist Temple in Bangkok. See map.

The Rattanakosin District of Bangkok is home to over 50 temples. Two Temples just about every traveler passing through Bangkok will visit are Wat Phra Kaew and Wat Pho. Both temples are highly recommended as they give you an idea of the grandeur and spectacle of Thai Buddhist Temples.

Where to next? Wat Arun is normally the third temple people associate with as a tourist mecca in Bangkok. In all honesty it’s quite a sight to see with breath taking views of the city. Go for a visit by all means.

If you need a 4th temple to visit I recommend Wat Borom Niwat. Peace and quiet is exactly what you’ll need after a visit to the aforementioned temples and at Wat Borom Niwat you will leave in a state of supreme bliss.

Enjoy the photoblog. Any questions please leave in the comments section. I currently live in Bangkok and go on Temple Walks every Sunday. My advice is solid.

Pic by Evan Guerra
Klong action. Pic by Evan Guerra
Right: Boy the inquisitive . Left: The Golden Cloister of Wat Borom Niwat. Pics by Evan Guerra

A few personal thoughts.

Lately I have found the more enthusiasm I exude when waltzing into a temple complex the more the residing Monks, lay persons and of course the locals seem to engage with me. The past 2 months in particular a conversation has almost always been struck up with a Phra Monk eager to impart a historical tid-bit or two about his treasured home.

Often I would go to a temple in a sort of despondent way like I was ashamed to be there because I wasn’t Thai and that I truly had no place to be intruding. Gladly this has passed.

Each temple despite its singular protagonist for me has a different purpose somehow, to be a reflection of myself at that very moment in time. Even after going to particular temples on the 3rd or 4th visit the experience is always significant. It’s almost unexplainable.

I didn’t find Buddha. He found me.

Profound.

Is this enlightenment in action?

Wat Borom Niwat is no exception. Sunday’s I enjoy picking out an uncharted section of Bangkok on google maps and then proceeding to find at least 3–5 temples within 5–7 kms of one another. I always try to travel to a particular location where I will both begin and end the day. Walking to and from the temples is the only option.

Walking meditation is super rejuvenating. Although I am slowly opening up to traditional Buddhist meditation, simply walking and reflecting is more my style.

Especially now after having quit smoking cigarettes 6 months ago I have more of a thirst for getting out and moving about. Walking for now is fine. One step at a time.

The towering Chedi of Wat Borom Niwat. Pic by Evan Guerra
Pic by Evan Guerra
Pic by Evan Guerra
Pic by Evan Guerra
Pic by Evan Guerra

Wat Borom Niwat is a meditators paradise. With-out much tourist traffic there are numerous spots to park yourself and take in an hour of meditation or simply watch monks and ice-cream vendors carry on about their day.

Within the main Vihara there is painted one of the most spectacular murals I’ve ever seen. Painted by famed Thai artist Khrua In Khong. The paintings are an exquisite display of traditional Thai painting and Colonial style.

I was very lucky to get these snaps. Originally the Ubosot was locked much to my disappointment so I went about exploring the cloister and Chedi area. A young Thai boy who’d seen me earlier lingering about came to open the Vihara for my pursusal. Score.

Memorable. A temple worth a look.

Please see grainy mural photos below.

Pics by Evan Guerra

--

--