Cycle of Learning will always have New Beginning

Malya Juvvadi
Walmart Global Tech Blog
3 min readMar 18, 2021

Daily we learn something new personally or professionally, why we learn will always help to find right path.

Here is short story about a Woman Software Engineer:

First question to me when I started as Software Engineer II was → which career path to choose?

  1. Front-End Developer
  2. Back-End Developer
  3. Full-Stack Developer
  4. Data Engineer
  5. Data Architect
  6. Data Scientist & more…

I am interested to learn all the technologies available. My career plan from under-graduation was to focus and learn as much as I could.

Learning Opportunities will Rise daily

Although I have joined Walmart with limited skill set, I continued to take any tasks which come to me without saying NO. Sometimes it was too challenging to complete, but I never gave up. Interest in learning more has always helped me to stay focus.

Knowledge is like Water!! Go with the flow, there might be few blockers but always find a way out

Sometimes, managing the tasks was difficult due to lack of guidance. As I have to put effort to know the right solution, I used to search → fail → retry. Failing helped me to know multiple approaches to deal with one question.

Sometimes Failing is also Beautiful

It’s always good to take a break and maintain work life balance; This helps to reinvigorate enthusiasm and helps us to stay focus on the goal.

We Fall to Grow — inspired from trees 🌳

There are people who discourage us and few who guide us. We have to seek right mentor in an organization. One of the interesting words I have heard from my mentor is we collect our knowledge in T-shape; we should have in-depth understanding of one career path and collect knowledge on other career paths.

My experience taught me below key activities to focus in an organization.

  1. Know Product/Customer needs and available technologies
  2. Learn the Technologies
  3. Plan to accomplish Product/Customer needs with available technologies
  4. Develop as per Organization Standards
  5. Present and collect feedback from customers & Leaders
  6. Guide new team members and other teams in organization.

--

--