Infinitree — Part 1

Timi Ajiboye
Wammed
Published in
3 min readJun 28, 2018

This was my earliest attempt of writing stuff while baked. This one was a lot of fun because I didn’t finish it in one session. I’d write a bit, come down from the high, think it’s crap, get wammed another day and continue. I actually already initially published this as a Medium Series post here. That sucks because you can only view Series with the iOS or Android Medium apps, so I’m republishing here.

A lot of trees, maybe even an infinite amount

It was originally titled Infinite Loop. Here it is:

You can’t infinitely love someone. That would mean you love no-one. Because how much love would you have to give someone that doesn’t exist for it to be love?

Infinite love

You can’t infinitely love something. That would mean you love nothing. Because how much love would you have to give something that doesn’t exist for it to be love?

Infinite love

Oh it goes on. It goes on forever. Because it’s everything. And everything is nothing.

You can’t be seen infinitely without being completely transparent. Because how many times will someone have to see something that’s completely transparent for it to be seen?

Infinite times

You can’t prove this wrong completely without it being right. Because just how much do you really have to prove that something which is right, is completely wrong?

Infinitely

Why? Because to prove something completely, you have to understand what complete means.

Has anything ever been made complete in the history of time? Hundred percent complete?

Nothing

Do you know why?

Because you haven’t tried infinitely to complete it.

I use complete in the complete sense of the word. But can I do that?

No!

Because for me to do that I’d have to try to complete something that means complete infinitely.

Complete is incomplete.

Everything is nothing.

One is zero is infinity.

This is the truth and it is a lie.

I’m you and you’re me but we’re nobody because how many combinations of me will somehow result in a complete you?

Infinite. Combinations.

That’s right.

I’m fully aware of this and I’m not because for me to be entirely aware of something that doesn’t exist, I’ll have to observe it an infinite amount of times.

You don’t get it do you? I’m not surprised. Nobody will get it and at the same time, everybody will get it. Or at infinitely different times — which is the same thing, really!

Let me try to explain with another clue, with another analogy, if I may.

Remember the Justice League episode, where The Flash showed that he could be in two (or more) places at the same time?

The next part may be a bit confusing to some:

  1. Flash proved that because of how fast he was, he could fool us to see that he’s in two (or more) places at the same time.
  2. With every additional flash illusion, he has to move faster so he can spend less time in the position of each clone and move around as quickly as possible.
  3. This is where it starts getting confusing, even I. — As I write this, it confuses me. It confuses me so much, that I completely understand it.
  4. Anyway, back to the analogy. The slower flash moves, the jerkier the flash illusions will be. They’ll be going between positions in ordinary motion, faster.
  5. So if Flash wanted to take this feat to the max. He’ll want to make an infinite amount of illusions and want to make each illusion to appear completely solid, completely real in fact, all at the same time — he’ll try to be an infinite amount of people, and move at an infinite speed (and acceleration) to make sure all of the illusions are moving at the infinitely slowest speed possible.
  6. And this will be so, across an infinite amount of eyes/viewers.

So what do we get from all this? To be the fastest, you must be the slowest and vice versa. I’m upending everything you’ve ever known and yet I’m not saying anything new.

Post Scriptum: Lmao, don’t worry I know how this reads. Unfortunately for you guys, there’s a second part coming soon, where I actually start “doing” math.

--

--

Timi Ajiboye
Wammed

I make stuff, mostly things that work on computers. CEO at Helicarrier (https://helicarrier.studio).