Simulation Not [Un]Important

Timi Ajiboye
Wammed
Published in
2 min readAug 12, 2020

Sometimes I think about those interviews where Elon Musk is asked about whether or not he thinks we’re in a simulation à la The Matrix. The question is somewhat nuts (like a lot of super broad, unanswered science questions) because it’s not necessarily straightforward to describe what being in a simulation means.

Anyway, I digress.

He often answers that he thinks the chances are higher than one might expect (he proposes a percentage that sounds to me like it can’t be based on any actual probability math).

The logic of his conclusion is as follows:

  • If you consider how realistic looking computer graphics currently are and the ever shortening wait for exponential improvement, it makes sense that we’d probably soon be able to craft [VR] simulations that could completely fool a human beings into mistaking them for reality for an extended period of time.
  • If we, mere humans, are able to perform such a feat [relatively soon], then there’s a chance that an advanced race of humans (or other species) already did that shit to us [for reasons beyond my imagination].

It makes [some] sense and it’s something we’re likely never going to conclusively find out.

However, whenever I think about it for long enough (don’t ask me why, I don’t know), I reach two somewhat contrasting conclusions. I don’t think these conclusions are particularly insightful but they amuse & motivate me (oddly enough) so I thought I’d share:

1. It largely doesn’t matter if [we find out that] we’re in a simulation

In the scenario where we actually discover that for some reason, a sentient race of weirdos trap us in a simulation. It doesn’t matter much because:

For one, that entire discovery could also be simulated.

Secondly, even if it wasn’t a part of the simulation, going by Elon’s logic, this must mean that we’d likely have found ourselves in yet another simulation. And then after that, another simulation and so on.

Somewhat related: You should definitely see these episodes of Rick and Morty:

Those are links to Fandom pages so you should only click them if you’d rather read the synopsis than watch spoiler free.

2. We should never stop trying to find out if we’re in a simulation

I’m not making assertions about the benefits (or lack of) of setting up a research team dedicated entirely to finding out if we’re in a simulation. I’m not nearly well read enough to come to a conclusion about that. However, all pursuits to understand every part of the universe we live in are, in a sense, taking us in the direction of finding out if we’re in a simulation.

Trying to understand all of existence and consciousness is the pursuit of the ever elusive simulation administrator alien people. That’s something I’d love for us to never stop doing.

P.S — if you want to go down a fun, nerd, rabbit hole. You can start from the Simulation Hypothesis Wikipedia page.

--

--

Timi Ajiboye
Wammed

I make stuff, mostly things that work on computers. CEO at Helicarrier (https://helicarrier.studio).