My most-used productivity hack 😌

Bas Grasmayer
wander notes
Published in
1 min readMar 5, 2018

This is Marconi Union’s Weightless. It is considered to be one of the most calming pieces of music ever made and was produced in collaboration with the British Academy of Sound Therapy.

In a study with 40 women, the song was found to reduce overall anxiety by 65% and brought it to a level 35% than their usual resting rates. The song slows down throughout its length, which leads to a decrease in heart rate and a lower blood rate.

In product roles, your days feature lots of small interruptions and contain a large variety of activities. I once heard a product manager explain what her role entails with one word: meetings.

So “refocusing” is an important aspect. Sometimes it’s hard to focus on the type of activity you are trying to perform. You have lost focus, perhaps it’s the late afternoon, now how do you gain focus again? To me, to focus means to increase my attention span and to concentrate the scope of my thoughts to a specific domain. This particular song moves me out of the domain of distraction and into slow, deliberate thought.

Enjoy.

My desk at the IDAGIO office in Berlin.

--

--

Bas Grasmayer
wander notes

Write about trends and innovation in tech and how they may impact the music business. Previously: Product Director, IDAGIO.