Society Spotlight: Brietta Tatro

Jana Kleitsch
Wanderlust Society
Published in
4 min readAug 15, 2018

Editor’s Note: Another great story of what inspired someone to travel… a photo of piranha in her youth. We had to ask, “has she gotten to see a piranha?” Answer, “Unfortunately (or fortunately) I’ve never seen a piranha in its natural habitat, only behind glass at an aquarium! It’s super eerie the way they just sit motionless in the water and stare out at you (shiver). :)

Agreed! — Editor

Check out Brietta’s trips here: https://www.wanderlustsociety.co/@BriettaMcGilvrayTatro

Brietta, Isle of Skye, Scotland.

Hometown?

Seattle, WA

Why do you use Wanderlust Society?

It’s an excellent place to dream, make bucket lists, build / research upcoming trips and also mark & record discoveries we make during our travels.

Surfers at sunset at Chesterman Beach in Tofino, B.C.

What’s on your 2018 bucket list?

Screencapture of Brietta’s 25th anniversary trip to Vancouver Island.

This year, we took a family road trip down the coast to the Bay Area, stopping to see various points of interest along the way like Sea Lion Caves and the sand dunes in Oregon and the Paul Bunyan roadside attraction and the redwoods in California. The highlight of the trip was a visit to Alcatraz Island which has been on my bucket list for ages. Last month my husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary while exploring Vancouver Island in Canada. We’d been to Victoria, B.C. a few times, but hadn’t traveled beyond. We took the ferry to Nanaimo, traveled up to Nanoose Bay near Parksville and then drove across the island to Tofino on Clayoquot Sound, a UNESCO Biosphere Reserve. In Tofino we found hidden beaches, watched bald eagles and peregrine falcons soaring high overhead and sea otters bobbing about near islands shrouded in mist. It’ll be hard to top Tofino for wild beauty, but next month I’ll be traveling to Costa Rica where I’m hoping to see lots of tropical and marine wildlife.

My friend Paula and I at a seaside restaurant on the Peloponnese peninsula in Greece where they caught and cleaned the fish right there on the steps.

What’s your favorite piece of luggage?

We bought our Rick Steves backpack bags for a trip to Europe in 2001 and have been using them ever since. They’re very durable and it’s amazing how much you can stuff into them, especially if you use packing cubes.

What type of traveler are you?

Food is a big part of travel for me; there’s nothing better than stumbling upon a local delicacy or a lovely little hole-in-the-wall restaurant off the beaten path. I’m also into travel for the history and the stories. And I believe that photographs are the best souvenirs.

View from a tower house in Kardamyli, Greece.

Where do you find your inspiration for where to travel?

My parents loved to travel and placed a great emphasis on it, so I grew up with an awareness of a larger world beyond the one I lived in and a hunger to see it all. I used to snuggle up next to my dad and pore over picture books of faraway places. My favorite book was about Mato Grosso in Brazil; I was particularly devoted to a close-up photo of a piranha baring its teeth! Through my love of books, I’ve been an armchair traveler hiking through the Himalayas or the eucalyptus forests of Australia or the highlands of Scotland in my imagination. My bucket list is long and I feel as though I’ve only scratched the surface, but I’m grateful for every inch of the planet I’ve had the opportunity to explore.

Ring Carson for tea. Highclere Castle (a.k.a. Downton Abbey) in England. (OMG!)

Best travel tip?

Pick a place, pick a date and start saving. “Maybe we’ll go there someday” can become a reality if you make concrete plans for it.

Crossing a stream near the Fairy Pools on the Isle of Skye in Scotland.

--

--

Jana Kleitsch
Wanderlust Society

Jana Kleitsch. Wanderlust Society co-founder. Co-founder of Wedding Channel. Ex-Amazon. Design. Photog. Up for adventure.