Society Spotlight: Brooke Gale

Jana Kleitsch
Wanderlust Society
Published in
4 min readSep 28, 2018

[Editor’s Note — I am using Brooke’s Hawaii trip to get ideas for my own trip next year! This is the true vision of Wanderlust Society of friends helping friends take great trips. Thanks Brooke!]

Hometown?

The Pacific Northwest — I spent my childhood in Seattle, but a good part of my adult life in Boise, Idaho and the Portland, Oregon area. They all feel like home now.

Why do you use Wanderlust Society?

The social connection aspect gives me peace of mind…Knowing the reviews are from friends (or friends of friends of friends) is great! I think I am more willing to give something a try when I know my friend went there/did that and loved it.

What trips did you take last year where you used WS?

We took the whole family to Hawaii over Christmas and my husband and I did a spring getaway to Costa Rica. Having 4 kids adds a different aspect to planning travel and it was great to get recommendations from people who understand that challenge. I got some amazing recommendations that really made our trips unforgettable. I also did a quick trip to Paris in the fall. I’ve even used it to look for local hikes and day trips.

What’s on your near term bucket list?

I’m a bit of a travel junkie, so really the entire world is on my bucket list. More realistically, we are hoping to do a New Zealand trip in the next year or two and I am constantly researching Spain & Portugal as well as a Scotland trip.

What’s your favorite piece of luggage?

I would have to say it is my Merin bag. I don’t think you can get them currently, but hopefully they’ll be back in the future! They make a great carry-on, but can also be folded down flat in a bigger luggage piece to be used as a beach bag, market bag, or day pack when you reach your destination. I recently loaded it up with shampoo and hygiene supplies and carried it across the border to Tijuana to bring donations to a women and children’s shelter. On the way back I just folded it up in my backpack! http://www.merindesigns.com/ (Also…who doesn’t love to support a local small business!)

What type of traveler are you? (like to find places with good food, or for landscape photography, or whatever.)

I had to take a cruise to discover that cruises and resorts are not my thing — I am not about the luxury of getting there or having an all-inclusive experience. I am more into spending time in off the beaten path type places and getting to know the landscape, the food, and the people. Some of my favorite adventures from recent trips were taking a cooking class in New Orleans, kayaking in a swamp, finding the best Italian restaurant in Boston, walking across the border to Mexico, riding a bus through Paris to Père Lachaise cemetery, and getting lost on the sketchiest roads I’ve ever been on in Costa Rica. I also love hiking, cemeteries, and finding hole in the wall restaurants every place I visit.

Where do you find your inspiration for where to travel?

I love travel magazines and read them on planes and car rides-when I was a kid I was sure I would be a National Geographic Photographer. But these days I most often turn to friends, family, and of course the internet.

Best travel tip?

Keep a toothbrush/basic hygiene kit in your suitcase when it is empty at home and you will never forget to bring it. I’m pretty sure I forgot my toothbrush at least 25 times before I figured that one out!

--

--

Jana Kleitsch
Wanderlust Society

Jana Kleitsch. Wanderlust Society co-founder. Co-founder of Wedding Channel. Ex-Amazon. Design. Photog. Up for adventure.