I Am Trash on an Airplane

Hilly
Wanderlust Women
Published in
2 min readMay 24, 2022

No judgment here.

Photo by Ashim D’Silva on Unsplash

In my day-to-day, I maintain solid habits. I go to bed early. I drink only on occasion. I read a lot of books.

All of those habits get tossed into the garbage as soon as I get on a plane ride longer than two hours.

Watch four hours of a trashy reality show I wouldn’t care to watch on any old Tuesday?

Don’t mind if I do.

Drink a Coke Zero and indulge in the shitty airplane food?

…If you’re offering, sure.

Take whatever medication I need to zonk out for a few hours?

Hand it over, please.

I wear my ugly compression socks, take my shoes off, and kick back. I’ll never have a meet-cute on an airplane, because I’m too busy wondering if Shaughna will ever get over being dumped by Callum for Mollie on Love Island.

If I want to listen to the same song seventy times, I will. If I want to watch the person next to me send emails, or snoop on what he’s reading, I will. Privacy on an airplane? Not in economy, baby.

The way I figure: I’m sitting in an upright lawn chair for two, five, ten hours. It’s uncomfortable, I’m bored, and my brains melts into a gooey mush.

So thank you, I will take another stroopwafel.

--

--

Hilly
Wanderlust Women

adventuresofhilly.com & @adventuresofhilly on tiktok — life enthusiast with a penchant for travel, a good book, and a new adventure.