Wandsworth Yum: End of the First Chapter

Wandsworth Yum
Wandsworth Yum
Published in
2 min readJul 5, 2018

I can’t quite believe it. It is already July and here I am at the end of my Digital Mum’s Social Media Management Training Course.

Over the past 6 months, I have shopped, cooked, dined and drank to my hearts’ content. I have dragged my kids and husband out to eat out at any opportune moment. I have delayed the start of meals just to take that perfect Instagram shot (much to my very impatient 4-year-old’s dismay). One time I did drop my phone into my rather creamy (and beautiful) dessert in a very posh restaurant, much to the hilarity of my fellow diners. Hardly cool. But seriously, not a bad gig, eh?

At the beginning all I knew was that I was greedy and loved food. I’m a pretty ‘sociable’ sort and knew a tiny bit about Social Media. But that was it. I am a Mum who gave up her career in Advertising to look after my kids. Fast forward six years, and my focus turned to pursuing a quest to re-train, giving me potential job opportunities that I could make work around being at home for my kids. And now, thanks to Digital Mums, a group of like-minded, smart and hilariously funny Peer Group (oh we have laughed!) and the support of so many local businesses and organisations along the way, I can finally say that I have achieved what I never thought I could was back in deepest darkest January.

As the course comes to an end (and my kids break off for the never-ending Summer Holidays), I will be taking a much-needed and well-deserved break (Mr Yum’s words, not mine!). Wandsworth Yum will continue to eat her way around the borough, but with a slightly new angle in the coming months.

I wanted to thank those of you who have supported me and my messages throughout the campaign. The Shares, the Comments, the giggles. I hope you will continue to support my message and follow me on to my next chapter. There are still many more meals left in me yet!

I am Sam and I have loved sharing my insights into the delicious Wandsworth food scene with you all. See you very soon. Until then…happy summer!

--

--