HOW TO HAVE A CAREER IN DESIGN, with Nicki Kythreotis, Head of Design at Now

Elliott Starr
Want A Creative Job
13 min readMar 6, 2018

--

The super-lovely, super-talented Nicki Kythreotis spoke to me about jumping on and climbing up the design ladder.

ES: What’s your life story in three, 1-sentence bullet points.

NK: A child that would never stop asking why. A young adult who was blindly determined and breaking the rules. An adult who loves to laugh to live life to the full.

ES: Tell me about a day in your life that you’ll never forget. Walk me through it.

NK: My wedding day. Not only did I proclaim my love, but I was surrounded by the people I loved the most. For the whole day it was wonderful to see a room full of people who all came together for one cause. Filled with laughter, fun, partying and drinking. Did I mention the drinking?

ES: Tell me about an event in your childhood or teen years that has shaped the adult you are now?

NK: It’s difficult to pinpoint one event, I would say it would be more the people I have met on my journey so far. Each person I have met has had some influence over my perspective or attitude towards life. I often people watch and listen carefully to others. I take the bits I like and discard the ugly.

--

--

Elliott Starr
Want A Creative Job

Maker of things. Trainer of things. Man on a mission.