2019 Washington Teacher of the Year award to be announced

Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction will honor nine finalists from across the state.

Superintendent Chris Reykdal will announce Washington’s 2019 Teacher of the Year at an award ceremony in Seattle on Monday, September 10, 2018 at 1:30 p.m. Nine finalists from across the state were considered for the honor and will be recognized at the ceremony.


  • Mandy Manning, 2018 State and National Teacher of the Year

Congratulations to the 2019 Finalists:

  • Susan Douglas, Almira Elementary, Almira SD, ESD 101
  • Michael Clinton, White Swan High School, Mt. Adams SD, ESD 105
  • Kimberly Miller, Woodland High School, Woodland SD, ESD 112
  • Ryan Healy, Ridgeline Middle School, Yelm SD, ESD 113
  • Karen Doran, Roosevelt Elementary, Port Angeles SD, ESD 114
  • Tracy Castro-Gill, Denny International Middle School, Seattle SD, ESD 121
  • Kristine Mars, Hawthorne Elementary, Kennewick, ESD 123
  • Mathew Brown, Manson Middle School, Manson SD, ESD 171
  • Robert Hand, Mount Vernon High School, Mount Vernon SD, ESD 189

Meet them all when OSPI goes live on Periscope Friday, September 7 at 1:15 for the #AskATeacher question-a-thon!

Ask veteran teachers your education questions September 6 and 7 and use the hashtag #AskATeacher to join the conversation. We’ve enlisted veteran Teachers of the Year including Mandy Manning to help celebrate education and our state’s teachers.

More about previous Washington Teachers of the Year: k12.wa.us/EducationAwards/TOY

The 2018 Washington Teachers of the Year.

Mandy Manning Wins! from TVW:

Like what you read? Give The Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction a round of applause.

From a quick cheer to a standing ovation, clap to show how much you enjoyed this story.