Four Washington Schools Receive National Blue Ribbon School Honors

A teacher calls on a student, sitting among several elementary-aged students with their hands raised.

Today, the U.S. Department of Education recognized four Washington state elementary schools for the schools’ overall academic performance.

The awardees are located in the Eastmont, Port Angeles, Puyallup, and University Place School Districts, and they won the award for their exemplary high academic performance.

Washington’s Recognized Schools

· Cascade Elementary School, Eastmont School District, Educational Service District (ESD) 171

· Hamilton Elementary School, Port Angeles School District, ESD 114

· Ridgecrest Elementary School, Puyallup School District, ESD 121

· University Place Primary School, University Place School District, ESD 121

An award ceremony for the awardees will be held by the U.S. Department of Education virtually on November 12 and 13. Each awardee will also receive a plaque and flag in the mail.

About the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program

The coveted National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the hard work of students and their educators, families, and communities.

Now in its 38th year, the program has provided awards to more than 9,000 schools nationwide.

The U.S. Department of Education website contains photographs and brief descriptions of all 2020 National Blue Ribbon Schools.



Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store
The Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

The Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Led by Supt. Chris Reykdal, OSPI is the primary agency charged with overseeing K–12 education in Washington state.