Trauma-Invested from a Distance

by Analisa McCann, ESD 101 Regional Teacher of the Year

Editor’s Note: This is part of a series of articles written by 2020 Washington Regional Teachers of the Year about their strategies and reflections on teaching during COVID-19 school facility closures. See the rest of the series.

On March 13, I was leading a professional development session on trauma-invested practices. I had taken the day away from my classroom to speak to staff in Pullman School District on how to implement trauma-invested strategies into their practice. During my afternoon session, we got word that Governor Inslee was going live with a press conference. I paused my session so we could watch. In that press conference he announced that schools would be closed for six weeks. I was in a room full of strangers, mourning the loss of what we love best; being with our students. As the press conference wrapped up and my session continued, I facilitated a circle (a strategy used in restorative practices). We shared our feelings and reactions, our worries, and fears. Realizing that many families and students would be experiencing a new kind of trauma, I knew that being a trauma-invested teacher would be more important than ever.

Care Packages

On March 14 I began creating care packages for my students. If we were to be apart for six weeks, I wanted them to have something special from me. I filled a package with activities to give them joy: chalk, crayons, bubbles, stencils, snacks, and other fun supplies. I made door to door drop-offs that weekend so I could see my students one last time. Relationships are front and center to being a trauma-invested teacher. My priority was to remind students that no matter what, I would be there for them and continue to be their support system. If physically dropping off a care package is not possible, there are ways you can virtually connect and support your students. Each week, I send a personalized video to students, letting them know I am proud of their hard work and miss them. I have also sent cards in the mail letting my students know that I am thinking of them.

Analisa’s care packages, which she packed for each student in her class.

Social Emotional Learning

Knowing that many families would be experiencing new trauma, my district made it a priority to create a committee focused on Social Emotional Learning and asked me to join. During this pandemic, there are families who are experiencing trauma for the first time and need support from school, even if it is virtual. Our committee is working to ensure that teachers have lessons, activities, and resources that they can add to their weekly instruction that align with the Social Emotional Learning Standards. Our committee of six members continues to provide a weekly framework for our 14 elementary schools.

Along with the framework, I create a weekly social emotional video that I share with K-2 teachers in my building. The videos include lessons on calm down steps, strategies for regulating emotions, and how to have a learning-ready brain. These videos are posted on Monday and students are asked to set a goal for the week. As educators, we understand that learning cannot take place if students do not feel regulated. By prioritizing social emotional learning now, we are reminding students to focus on their well-being first. I also communicate to families the importance of taking time to watch these videos and support their students with strategies at home. Families can then support their child in the goals that they set and feel empowered in helping their child regulate. By partnering with families, we can help students create a habit of recognizing strong feelings and dealing with them in a healthy way.

At Home Calm Down Kits

As a trauma-invested teacher, one of the strategies I use in my classroom is having a calm down area. It gives students a place to regulate. Students need this space at home too. Early on during this closure, I created “At Home Calm Down Kits” for each student. The kits include different tools that kids are familiar using to calm down and regulate: play-doh, silly putty, bubbles, a maze, slinky, sensory bottle, and a timer. Before delivering them to students, I showed them through a Zoom meeting what the kit included and reminded them of the steps for taking a break. When students have a strong feeling, they go to their calm down spot. They set a timer, pick one tool that can help them regulate, and use that tool to help them calm down. If the timer goes off and they are not regulated, they can reset the timer and pick another tool to try. Now each student in my class has a kit at home that they can use when having a strong feeling. Families can work with their children to create their own calm down kits at home. By including the child in the process, they can pick tools that they know work for them. At home tools might include: a special stuffed animal or blanket, coloring supplies, a special book, Legos, and homemade cards with breathing strategies.

I am inspired by all the creative ways that educators are connecting with their students: sending cards in the mail, having weekly class meetings, creating predictability with consistent weekly schedules, showing understanding when work doesn’t get complete, having school car parades, etc.

Addressing trauma in the lives of our students and their families does not stop during distance learning. Our families are in survival mode. Parents and students are experiencing chronic stress. Being trauma-invested should be the primary focus of educators during this time and when we return to school. Students will be re-entering school with many different emotions. Creating a safe environment must take precedent over academics. If you ask students what they miss most about school, they will tell you they miss being with their friends and teacher. That is why Zoom meetings are the preferred method of engagement for students at my school (and around the country); they can see their friends and connect.

I have always prioritized developing positive relationships with students because I knew it would improve their learning. Now that I no longer see my students every day and experience their hugs, smiles, laughs, and hilarious quotes, I am realizing how valuable those relationships are to me as well.

To find more tips about being trauma-invested from a distance, visit Analisa McCann’s website, or follow her on Twitter.

--

--

The Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Led by Supt. Chris Reykdal, OSPI is the primary agency charged with overseeing K–12 education in Washington state.