Waris Nizamani
Stories on a table
Published in
3 min readJun 28, 2023

--

Photo by Jen Theodore on Unsplash

Writing is often considered a form of expression, a way to communicate thoughts and ideas. However, there are times when the words seem to escape us, leaving us questioning our abilities and the purpose of our craft. In this article, I will share my personal experience of why I stopped writing and the various challenges I encountered along the way.

Photo by Mike Tinnion on Unsplash
  1. The Blank Page Syndrome: The Struggle to Find Inspiration
    One of the main reasons I stopped writing was the overwhelming feeling of staring at a blank screen and not knowing what to write. Ideas were scarce, and the fear of producing high quality content paralyzed my creative process. The more I think about the situation, the harder it became to overcome.
  2. Procrastination: My Enemy,
    Procrastination became my constant companion, preventing me from putting fingers to keyboard. I found myself easily distracted by trivial tasks or endless scrolling through social media feeds, further perpetuating the cycle of avoidance.
  3. Doubtness: Should I Write or Not?
    Doubt crept into my mind, questioning whether writing was truly my calling. I began comparing myself to other writers, doubting my own capabilities and wondering if pursuing writing was a right decision to take. The internal struggle between passion and self-doubt intensified.
  4. Uncertainity: Is Writing Meant for Me?
    Contemplating the future of my writing career added to my uncertainty. Would my writing ever be good enough? Would I be able to make a living from it? These questions loomed large, casting doubt on my chosen path.
  5. Finding My Writing Voice: Overcoming the How
    Discovering how to write authentically was another obstacle I faced. I yearned to produce conversational and humorous content, but I struggled to find my unique voice. It was challenging to strike a balance between being true to myself and meeting the expectations of readers.
  6. Battling Grammar:
    My lack of knowledge about grammar became a constant source of frustration. The fear of making grammatical mistakes hindered my writing process, as I constantly second-guessed myself and felt overwhelmed by the rules and intricacies of the English language.
Photo by Danilo Batista on Unsplash

Embracing Humor and Conversational Tone: Defining My Writing Style
Ultimately, I realized that the type of article writing I desired was one that incorporated humor and a conversational tone. I wanted to connect with readers on a personal level and create an enjoyable reading experience. It became essential to define my unique writing style and embrace it wholeheartedly.

Photo by Hester Qiang on Unsplash

In general, it can be said that:
While my journey led me to temporarily abandon writing, it also taught me valuable lessons about self-discovery and perseverance. Overcoming the barriers of writer's block, self-doubt, and grammatical challenges requires patience, practice, and a willingness to push through the obstacles. Today, I am slowly finding my way back to writing, armed with a renewed sense of purpose and a determination to express myself through words once again.

Remember, the journey of a writer is unique for each individual. Embrace the challenges, learn from them, and allow them to shape your growth as a writer.

--

--

Waris Nizamani
Stories on a table

Novice Writer | Available for work | varsatile in niches like Agriculture&Food, thoughts, travelling & short stories. | Contact: Warisnizamani158@gmail.com