Playing a Song the Same Way Twice: How to Miss the Point. Thanks Filipe…

Warren Lain
warrenmusic
Published in
2 min readJun 6, 2016

Filipe recently purchased the Melody Module and I asked him for initial impressions of the videos and for feedback. Instead, what I received was a much more interesting story of personal discovery on how replicating a song really misses the point.

“The biggest leap was when I came upon your Radiohead tutorials. In one of those (I don’t remember which one) you casually point out that students shouldn’t worry about playing a song exactly how they sound on the record, Radiohead never played a song exactly the same way twice and neither should we. That’s when I subscribed to your youtube page and liked you on facebook, and really it’s what stands you apart from all the other teachers I found on the net. They all focus on showing how to play perfectly (and some are quite good at it), while you made me understand the songs.”

Click here to enlarge.

Purchase the Melody, Harmony, and Rhythm* Modules today.

*Rhythm Module is available as a pre-order. Melody and Harmony are available for access today.

--

--