We Are DES: Meet Andri Chavez

WaStateDES
WaStateDES
Published in
2 min readAug 30, 2022

This is a part of our featured story series “We Are DES.” These stories will introduce you to an individual at DES and the work they do to help fulfill the DES mission — you’ll also learn some fun details about how they spend time outside of work.

Name: Andri Chavez

Division: Buildings & Grounds

Job title: Custodian 4 / Custodial Supervisor

What year did you start at DES? 2018

What year did you begin working for Washington state? 2018

In two sentences or less, describe what you do at DES. I supervise the custodial teams that oversee the Department of Transportation (WSDOT) and Employment Security Department (ESD) buildings on the Capitol Campus and ensure any problems are reported to work management center to be fixed.

How do you believe your role supports the DES mission of strengthening the business of government? The members of the custodial team are the front-line workers that ensure all buildings are kept clean and presentable to ensure all departments in our care can get the most out of their workspaces.

In what ways do you experience DES values in your everyday work? (respect; integrity; excellence; diversity, equity & inclusion) I have been lucky to work with a very diverse team that have shown what all of these values mean. The custodial and B&G teams have shown me acceptance since I fully and socially came out as Trans at the beginning of the year. Due to this, I personally know the impact that bringing your true self to work every day does for one’s drive and passion in the workplace!

What did you do before working at DES? I worked at Walmart for eight years from a stockman all the way up to an assistant manager.

What do you enjoy doing outside of work? I enjoy spending time with my family and making bracelets and necklaces. I almost always wear something I have made. I also love to play video games and listen to almost every type of music.

What is a fun fact about you? I have synesthesia. When I hear sounds, I see colors. The pathways in my brain allow for colors to be tied to sounds and numbers/letters. This has heavily affected my love of art and music!

Anything else you’d like to share? If you would like to talk to me about my experiences coming out at DES or just need someone that will understand how you are feeling everyone can reach out to me at any time.

--

--

WaStateDES
WaStateDES

Strengthening the business of government in Washington state