We Are DES: Meet Natasha Fitzgerald

WaStateDES
WaStateDES
Published in
2 min readOct 14, 2022

This is a part of our featured story series “We Are DES.” These stories will introduce you to an individual at DES and the work they do to help fulfill the DES mission — you’ll also learn some fun details about how they spend time outside of work.

Name: Natasha Fitzgerald

Division: Finance

Job title: Fiscal Analyst 2

What year did you start at DES? 2019

What year did you begin working for Washington state? 2016

In two sentences or less, describe what you do at DES. I effectively create working relationships with multiple state agencies and maintain their payroll needs.

How do you believe your role supports the DES mission of strengthening the business of government? My role supports the DES mission of strengthening the business government by providing quality work and maintaining relationships with inside and outside stakeholders.

In what ways do you experience DES values in your everyday work? (respect; integrity; excellence; diversity, equity & inclusion) On a daily basis, my supervisor respects my opinions, boundaries, and desire to balance home and work life. In Payroll, we have a diverse group of individuals from different backgrounds, which has created a team that works fluidly and has different mindsets that are shared cohesively. DES has made an extremely huge effort in incorporating DEI into the everyday work environment, and for me, that is very important to know that the organization I work for is accepting of everyone and is willing to do the hard work to make DEI a way of life.

What did you do before working at DES? I worked at DSHS (Department of Social & Health Services) determining eligibility for food, cash and medical benefits for the public.

What do you enjoy doing outside of work? I enjoy watching football, traveling, swimming, reading, cooking, baking and going to the movies, but mostly spending time with my family.

What is a fun fact about you? My favorite color is orange, my favorite book is the Secret Life of Bees and my favorite movie is Dreamgirls. My most memorable vacation was when my family went on a seven-day cruise to Jamaica and Mexico for a week, then drove to Orlando, Florida, and went to Disney World.

--

--

WaStateDES
WaStateDES

Strengthening the business of government in Washington state