We Are DES: Meet Rachel Thompson

WaStateDES
WaStateDES
Published in
3 min readOct 14, 2022

This is a part of our featured story series “We Are DES.” These stories will introduce you to an individual at DES and the work they do to help fulfill the DES mission — you’ll also learn some fun details about how they spend time outside of work.

Headshot of Rachel Thompson

Name: Rachel Thompson

Division: Enterprise Technology Solutions (ETS)

Job title: Agency Records Officer/Records Manager

What year did you start at DES? 2021

What year did you begin working for Washington state? 2013

In two sentences or less, describe what you do at DES.
The boring answer: I work to ensure that DES is compliant with records management laws, regulations and best practices.

The fun answer: I get to work with DES employees to help them manage their records and information assets so they can be compliant AND find what they need!

How do you believe your role supports the DES mission of strengthening the business of government?
I help strengthen the business of government by working with DES employees to improve efficiency and information retrieval through the organization and management of our records and information. Information is crucial!

My job is to help you figure out what to do with your records and information, and (as much as I can right now) make finding and managing them as painless as possible — so you can focus on your work. I dream of someday making records and information management something only I have to worry about. In the meantime, I’m here to help you!

In what ways do you experience DES values in your everyday work? (respect; integrity; excellence; diversity, equity & inclusion)
Working with my colleagues in ETS, I experience excellence every day! In my short time here, I have seen how deeply concerned DES employees are with integrity as they work with me to understand their responsibilities around records. Working with folks who want to always do the right thing is inspiring.

What did you do before working at DES?
I was Western Washington University’s records officer for over seven years. I was so happy to be able to go back to Western (and Bellingham) after getting my history/archives and records management master’s degree there in 2011!

What do you enjoy doing outside of work?
I enjoy reading, watching Jane Austen movies, puzzles of all sorts, sewing and needlework, baking, going to breweries with my partner, and (usually) hiking. Most of all, though, I love the chance to spend time with my five nieces and nephews and all my honorary “niblings!” (Basically, I’m an 80-year-old auntie at heart.)

What is a fun fact about you?
In August 2017, I hiked Mt. St. Helens and, on my way up, discovered that I’m afraid of heights. I made it to the top, though, and thankfully never have to do that again! Now I know I have to stay below the tree line when I hike! (We also forgot to put on sunscreen, so our sunburns were sorer than our legs the next day!)

--

--

WaStateDES
WaStateDES

Strengthening the business of government in Washington state