Airports & Watches

The tale of my Oris Big Crown

Bruno Candeias
Watching Watches

--

Photo by Author

Back when I was studying civil engineering, I dreamed about working with big projects in a company that had the possibilities to get things done. With a mix of luck and preparation, I landed (pun intended) a job at the Portuguese Airports company, ANA. It was a dream come true, a moment that deserved to be celebrated with the purchase of a new watch that I could wear during this new chapter of my life. When I started my research, I had a target in mind: I wanted a Jaeger-LeCoultre Reverso, the revolving-case 1930s inspired watch. But it was still a long way for me to save enough money to get that tiny rectangular timepiece.

All was going fine, but then 2020 arrived. I moved to work at Faro Airport in April, on the same day that the 1st lockdown started here in Portugal. It was a scary time, with uncertainty and anxiety that are still partly present to this day, but somehow I got used to. As most watch enthusiasts did, I coped with the isolation by researching and learning more about watches, as well as engaging with the online community.

Long story short, since I’d rather not spend a big amount of money in these turbulent times and part of my days are spent in construction sites, I decided to put the Jaeger-LeCoultre dream on hold for at least a few years, and started searching for a blue dial watch to wear…

--

--

Bruno Candeias
Watching Watches

I take photos, drink coffee, watch watches, and write about all of it.