Just start already

Nabeelah Patel
Watercolour CapeTown
2 min readJul 6, 2019

I keep telling myself (and anybody willing to listen) that i can “do this art thing”

Photo by Start Digital on Unsplash

I keep saying that i am -sometimes- quite a talented writer.

But its come to the point where lack of doing and too much justifying is suffocating my creativity.

It is about time i actually stop speaking and just start showing.

Please bear with me as i build this art blog.

Photo by Umanoide on Unsplash

There will be bad art

There will be bad grammar

They will be sloppy editing

Until one day

There will be great writing and great art

and hopefully an actual editor

We all have to start somewhere.

Einstein had to learn 1 .. 2 … 3

He had to begin to be bad at bad in order to master it

This publication has not been started by a master of art or writing

It has been started by someone who likes to paint -and write- in her dressing gown.

July 2019

I started something

And it scares me to be bad at it

But i am starting anyway

Because fear is good

Fear is my fuel

What will you start, that you have been putting off for too long?

Photo by Alex on Unsplash

--

--

Nabeelah Patel
Watercolour CapeTown

Millennial female;optimistic, nature loving, vegetable eating artist. Do spreadsheets for fun,and have a 50 000 word draft in need of editing.