Watercolour Muse — Why i named this Publication after Cape Town

Nabeelah Patel
Watercolour CapeTown
2 min readJul 4, 2019

Cape Town, my home, and its beautiful seasons is what drove me to pick up a paint brush and try and capture the ever-changing moods of the city.

Watercolour Art in Cape Town credit: Nabeelah Patel

I love Architecture. I love old Architecture even more.

Adderley Street, Cape Town South Africa credit: Nabeelah Patel

And there something so nostalgic about loose sepia washes over an Architecture sketch. I have so many photographs that are waiting to be turned into a piece of art. And sometimes, when i am out of time. I lazily make use of the watercolour filter on Instagram. It definitely comes in handy when you’re waiting at a red robot.

Old Standard Bank Building, Adderley Street Cape Town South Africa

Then there are the Cerulean Blue skies...

Blouberg Strand, Cape Town South Africa credit: Nabeelah Patel

and the pink musky sunsets

Woodstock Sunset, Cape Town South Africa credit: Nabeelah Patel

Cape Town has so much to inspire. Even on the days when i feel most uninspired.

Even the moodiest rainy day is full of inspiring indigo and payne’s grey.

Table Mountain, Cape Town South Africa credit: Nabeelah Patel

I knew watercolour would be the only medium to quickly capture this city’s ever-changing moods and seasons. And this past year I've been exploring my city like a tourist, with my Moleskine Watercolour Sketchbook. It feels like i am on a holiday everytime i see the same old sights through the eyes of my newly budding art hobby. The best part about my secret sketchbook is that nobody is there to question the composition or the colour mixes. It is just me and my beginner skills figuring it all out and having fun along the way.

Have you ever sketched the everyday mundane sights in your City? I promise it won’t look so mundane. Even spending 5 minutes on a sketch of a dustbin makes you look at every project with a new appreciation.

Happy painting!

Nabeelah :)

ps. If you do have Instagram, please tag me in your art adventures! I would love to tag along on your art journey.

Thank you for your continued support of the Watercolour Cape Town Art Journal

--

--

Nabeelah Patel
Watercolour CapeTown

Millennial female;optimistic, nature loving, vegetable eating artist. Do spreadsheets for fun,and have a 50 000 word draft in need of editing.