The Icon

Daniel Chitra on his experiences as an Asian model

Watercress Editors
Watercress
2 min readJul 6, 2020

--

Daniel Chitra is a fashion model for Body London, London’s leading boutique model agency. We sat down with Daniel to discuss his experiences in the modeling world and beyond.

Tell us about the community you grew up in.

I grew up in North London so many people I knew had been to top universities. They all had jobs such as doctors and lawyers. I didn’t know anyone who was in the modeling industry so I had to learn everything about it myself.

What led you to modeling?

I had always liked having my picture taken and thought modeling would be a great experience if I ever got the opportunity to do so.

What’s the most rewarding part about your job? What’s the most challenging?

The most rewarding part of modeling, in my opinion, is that it’s makes you more confident. It also gives you a chance to make new connections with people and to get some great photos! The most challenging thing is the traveling and early starts. Photoshoots are not going to be next-door to you and they usually include a very early morning with journeys that can be 4 hours long to get there for 9am.

What’s your take on diversity in the modeling world?

Diversity in the modeling world has definitely become better with all types of people being signed with agencies now. However, I do still feel that there is a lack of Asian models in the industry. There is always opportunity to increase diversity in the modeling industry.

To all the Asians aspiring to be fashion models, what’s you advice to them?

I would say to them to never give up! If modeling is your dream then keep improving yourself and continue to apply to agencies. Also, do your research about what it takes to become a model and if that is what you really want to do. Finally, rejection is very normal in the industry and many top models have been rejected over and over again. So keep going!

--

--