Introverts Are Also Cool

Introverts don’t always need to find people, the world already lives inside us

Stephen
Waterybeans
3 min readApr 27, 2020

--

There is this popular notion that introverts need to be more extroverted. As introverts we get told we are deficient humans, simply because we aren’t outgoing enough.

Being an introvert, I realized how much more in tune I was with my environment, to the point where I never needed to be the life of the crowd to enjoy the crowd. Wherever I found myself, I observed the vast activities going on simultaneously and sucked all that thrill into my inner world.

As introverts, we are more reflective and we draw our enthusiasm from knowing ourselves more. Extroverts get their energy from large gatherings and social interactions. Extroverts are usually the life of the party, but as introverts we always have a party going on in our heads, so we rather stay home, lick some ice cream and attend to the guests in our heads by watching a nice movie or documentary.

It’s kind of like a battery they recharge, and then they can go out into the world and connect really beautifully with people.

Dr. Jennifer Kahnweiler, in her book on introverts.

According to Jung and the developers of the Myers–Briggs Type Indicator, everyone has both an extroverted side and an introverted side, with one being more dominant than the other.

Susan Cain, author of the book, Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking, argues that modern Western culture misjudges the capabilities of introverted people, leading to a waste of talent, energy, and happiness.

She describes how society is biased against introverts, and that, with people being taught from childhood that to be sociable is to be happy, introversion is now considered “somewhere between a disappointment and pathology”.

Cain says that introversion is not a “second-class” trait but that both introverts and extroverts enrich society, with examples including the introverts J. K. Rowling, Isaac Newton, Albert Einstein, Mahatma Gandhi, Dr. Seuss, W. B. Yeats, Steven Spielberg, and Larry Page.

Contrary to popular opinion, being an introvert doesn’t mean you’re shy, and being an extrovert doesn’t mean you’re not shy. You can be an introvert and still be as brave as you want to.

This is why as a shy introvert, you shouldn’t label yourself and allow anyone else label you, because you can always work on yourself and your flaws don’t define you. So next time someone relegates your awesome personality into a shy one, don’t feel awkward.

The world and how it relates with us, is all about our perception of it. Being an introvert doesn’t mean you wouldn’t get to enjoy the world and all of its uncertainties to the fullest. Keeping up with the pace of everyone at your own expense would only rob you of your mindfulness.

You have to be present with yourself, feel the happiness inside and soak in its genuineness. You really aren’t missing out on so much, and maintaining your mental health before diving into the crazy gatherings is key. Channel your extrovert self into exploring the chaos around you, but also remember to make the most of your lonely times.

I definitely want to travel, and being an introvert is never an excuse not to face my fears and connect with the world, but sometimes I have to ensure I focus on what I feel inside and the troubled world in my mind. Meditation, documentaries that get me critically thinking and some really nice cookies can do the trick.

The Instagram stories, and snaps sure makes me fear missing out on what my peers and friends are experiencing, sometimes I even wonder why I don’t care that much. We should have fun and create memories, but not being part of what others are doing doesn’t take away from the joy we feel from the little things we do in our safe space.

Being an Introvert can never take from your worth, it only makes you embrace yourself and your happiness in a different way.

Trust me, you’re cool.

I tell stories that matter, feel free to join me here.

--

--

Stephen
Waterybeans

Confused soul. I’m all about everything progressive. Reach out — stephenfresh150@gmail.com