Alex Martin
Ftr.
Published in
3 min readNov 19, 2018

--

How I Found My Passion For Music Production

I got started producing the day I moved into the Ryerson University dorms in Toronto, Canada. Having moved from the United States, I didn’t really know anybody in the city so, I thought I’d entertain myself by making music. I set up my 25 key Nektar MIDI keyboard and the DAW it came with (Studio One). I hooked up an old practice guitar amp as monitor speakers and there it was, my first “studio” set up. And I fell in love with it. Everyday that year, I locked myself in my room blasting beats from that distorted amplifier, pissing off the students on my floor, and getting better at my craft. I didn’t know it, but I was fostering a true passion for music production.

Late nights, early mornings, it didn’t matter. Producing became all I did and all I thought about. Finding out what would happen if I increased the size of the room reverb on a piano track or took out the high end of a kick drum was a thrill. I read articles, watched videos, and even got around to making friends through production.

Those friends became mentors and collaborators who taught me more than I could have asked to learn. With the help of those friends, I was able to take what I learned and produce, record, mix and master three albums in one year.

It didn’t take a lot to start. I guess that’s my point. Starting was really easy. Once the passion and love for what I was doing took over, It became just another thing I did.

I’m not special. This is a common story. Throughout my time making music, I have met several people who found production the same way.

It is now 2018 and I have teamed up with two other producers with similar stories to launch .Wav Productions. Our mission is to help musicians find their sound. Whether it be through custom work or beat distribution, .Wav is here for the artist. We have a lot of growing to do and there is a long journey ahead. But I cannot wait to see what happens next.

If you want to get in touch with us, follow us on Instagram or add us on Snapchat (Image Below) and we’ll send you a free beat!

Visit .Wav Productions and send us an email. We would love your feedback!

Add us on Snapchat for a FREE BEAT!

--

--