The Proust Questionnaire Revisited

Lorie Driscoll
Wave Hi to Life
Published in
6 min readJul 4, 2019

--

My 2019 Answers

Image by Gerd Altmann (geralt) Pixabay.com | https://pixabay.com/users/geralt-9301/

My 2019 Answers to Marcel Proust’s parlor game

I wondered how much my answers had changed since I last pondered these questions.

Here goes:

Q1: What is your idea of perfect happiness?

Perfect happiness doesn’t exist, not the “all day every day” happiness kind.

I could tell you of moments of happiness, like seeing a cloud in the shape of an elephant, or realizing you do like fresh mushrooms on a salad after all. Something happens and you remember a long lost friend and their irreverence. Moments when you share a laugh with a friend, especially an old friend, and it’s a joke no one else would understand.

The moments pass, and the happiness is that they come at all.

Q2: What is your greatest fear?

My greatest fear is making the same mistakes over and over again, and never realizing it. Never taking to heart the lessons.

Q3: What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?

Today, the trait I most deplore is my own tendency to deplore.

Q4: What is the trait you most deplore in others?

Same. Stop whining, and do something about it if you can.

--

--

Lorie Driscoll
Wave Hi to Life

ISFJ. Public radio listener. Introverted chatterbox. Find me at LorieDriscoll.com