Drops: the political relevance of gratitude

Virginia Vigliar
Waves
Published in
2 min readSep 20, 2021

Gratitude is a constant reminder that fast-paced must go hand in hand with rest.

still from the documentary Meeting the Man

September is always a new beginning for me, it has the energy of a thousand horses and my mind is constantly rushing. There is an air of change, and in my mind change is a hurricane. In my heart, it is a plant.

The theme of Autumn is to see what we have harvested in the past year, to make an inventory of what has worked and what has not, so we can plant new seeds. Often at the end of a cycle, we tend to position ourselves in the future, where the new things are. It is all about planning, doing, talking, achieving. This energy makes me act like an over-enthusiastic child that has so much ahead. It is wonderful, yet the adult in me craves grounding, it craves body, heart.

Today, I finally sat down with myself after a long time. In a rush of “do do do” “how can I be better?” “How can I achieve more” (capitalistic tendencies much?) I realised I had forgotten to look at change from the heart.

What brought me back? Gratitude. It is grounding, it allows us to pause and observe what we have achieved and how we already grew.

If gratitude could be touched it would be the body, the ultimate anchor to this earth. Gratitude is patient, trusting, and loving, and always a step away. We are all constantly evolving in some way when we show up in a loving way for ourselves. Imagine the child you looking at you right now!!

Gratitude is a constant reminder that fast-pace must go hand in hand with rest. In a society that privileges productivity over mental health, it is a reminder to pause. Gratitude is therefore revolutionary.

**

Drops is a Waves column created by Virginia Vigliar, it showcases short reflections and knowledge sharing for you to water. If you need a quick break, want to be immersed in poeticism with purpose, then this is for you!

You can follow Virginia on Instagram here

--

--