Love, Mom

Jacquie Robison
WAWOS Canada
Published in
2 min readMay 8, 2022

In a few months, my daughter will turn 13. It was hard to imagine this milestone when she was born at just 28-weeks via emergency c-section, and weighing a whisper over 2 pounds. As I’ve thought about her becoming a teen, I started composing this letter in my head, and today, Mother’s Day, felt like the right time to write it all down.

“​Dear Sofia,

​Let learning and laughter be your superpowers.

Love who you are and how you are. Cerebral Palsy does not define you. In fact, it’s the least interesting thing about you. But, neither should you erase it. Embrace it. Embrace all the elements of your incredible character: Your joyfulness, your curiosity, your kindness, your strength, your loyalty, and your gentle heart. Be bold. Be kind. Be brave, and be true to you.

Your interest in robotics, dance, cooking, indoor rock climbing, skiing, and writing will take you on adventures you can’t even imagine right now. But, keep imagining all the possibilities in your world. In your life.

Your arrival in this world started me on a path of imagining new possibilities. Your diagnosis challenged me to​ shift the lens through which I viewed the world, and encouraged me to consider how I could be part of making it more inclusive. Of actively working to build a world where everyone is accepted for every piece of themselves, and where we don’t just survive, but thrive.

Thanks for making me a mom. Your Mom. xo”

Happy Mother’s Day

Jacquie with her newborn daughter, Sofia. (L) and enjoying various adventures (R)

--

--

Jacquie Robison
WAWOS Canada

Founder at WAWOS Canada + WAWOS US. Passionate about disability visibility. Believer in the power of little acts to make a big difference. #InclusionRevolution