Hot shit I found this week

Ali Johnston
Wax & Stamp
Published in
2 min readMay 31, 2016

Each week we share with you some of our favourite tracks, either new releases or something we’ve never heard before. Oh hey look it’s my go:

I don’t know if is the sunny weather we’ve been having or what but something is filling me with nostalgia and this is reflected in my picks for this week. First up is Burning from Malachi feat. AM2PM, featuring a great vocal hook and piano chords with are taking me straight back to the dance classics of the nineties. It may be pouring down outside right now but this makes me feel like I’m on some Balearic beach somewhere.

Next up giving me a nostalgia hit is Late Nite Tuff Guy’s reworking of Michael Jacksons ‘it’s The Falling In Love’. Nailing the classic french disco sound, we’re back in Ibiza but this time it’s the early 00s.

Woooah hype time, here is the long awaited new single, One More Time by Craig David, yes that Craig David from the millennium. Turns out everything from then is cool again, including him and what a good thing because this track is awesome. We’re still in the early 00’s and we’re in da club.

Cruel Youth is the musical love child of Teddy Sinclair and her husband Willy Moon. This soulful track has echoes of the girl groups of the 60’s and 70’s, like The Ronettes, and it wouldn’t be out of place sound tracking a nostalgic coming of age story.

That’s it from me, if you like what you hear sign up to Wax & Stamp and get two new records delivered to your door every month.

--

--

Ali Johnston
Wax & Stamp

Start up and tech marketing person, and head up marketing over at Wax & Stamp