Self-Publishing: The Ultimate Test for My Marketing Degree

A Lesson in Marketing My Epic Fantasy Adventure Novel

W.D. Seitz
Wayfare
6 min readJun 16, 2023

--

The Beauty of Dawn by W.D. Seitz (wd seitz)

When I graduated high school in 2019, I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life. I mean, I did know— but I didn’t think it was viable. I have always wanted to be an author, ever since I was eight years old, but after querying my book and receiving a substantial amount of rejections, I was starting to look into developing The Backup Plan.

Ah, yes. The Backup Plan. The thing that I’m supposed to fall back on when my dreams and aspirations inevitably die. At least, that was how I viewed it, which was why it was so hard for me to pick a degree. I thought, no matter what I choose, I won’t be passionate about it. So why bother?

Of course, I thought about going to school for writing. I even got accepted into the University of King’s College, my dream school. It was magical there, everything an aspiring author could want. A library with a spiral staircase, books you needed to wear white gloves to touch, castle-like stone architecture, and monthly dinners where everyone dressed up in black robes and listened to speeches spoken in Latin. I wanted to dive head-first into that world, learning philosophy, the humanities and the arts.

But then I started thinking. And I looked at my bank account. And I thought about it some more.

Eventually, I came to the conclusion that it wasn’t worth it. $80,000 for a bachelor’s degree. And for what? The aesthetic? What would I personally get out of it (other than a good time), and what would it do for my future?

I couldn’t come up with any good answers, so I went back to the drawing board. And I didn’t go to King’s.

Instead, I ended up going to a local community college for Business Administration and Marketing. It was much cheaper, especially considering I could still live at home. And although it wasn’t glamourous, and my college looked a lot like a high school, I learned a lot of great skills there. Skills and a diploma that I can apply to anything business related — including publishing a book.

In this article, I’ll share my experiences and discuss how self-publishing allowed me to apply and refine my marketing skills while promoting my novel.

Understanding the Target Audience

One of the first lessons in marketing is understanding the target audience. This knowledge enables marketers to tailor their messaging and promotions effectively.

In the case of my dark YA epic fantasy adventure novel, I needed to identify what exactly I was selling. What was unique about my book? What would make someone decide to buy it? I wrote them all down in my marketing plan:

  • Dark young adult epic fantasy
  • Classic fantasy like Eragon and Percy Jackson
  • An emphasis on platonic friendships
  • Descriptive & atmospheric writing
  • Found family trope
  • Reluctant hero trope
  • Multi-POV

When making social media content to promote my book, these are my go-to key words. Then I had to consider who would read a book like this. I created character profiles for readers based on their hypothetical preferences, interests, and reading habits. Those fake people became my target audience, and whenever I make social media posts about my book, they’re who I’m speaking to. Even right now, I’m speaking to a specific person in my target audience! (Hint: they like to write books, too.)

Developing My Pitch

This was arguably more difficult than actually writing the book. I took everything I thought people would love about my story and gave it to an editor, who helped me create a blurb to put on the back cover. Then I broke down that blurb into three pitches:

The Twitter Pitch (a one-sentence snapshot)

Marketing Pitch (what goes on the back cover and retailer sites)

Passion Pitch (a longer-form version that may come in handy during videos, blog posts, interviews, etc)

Market Research & Competition

When I went to school for marketing, I learned about the SWOT analysis, where you identify the strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats related to your business. I applied this to my book: some strengths were that it was professionally edited and had an attractive cover (featured below). A big weakness was that I didn’t have a traditional publishing house behind me. Without going too much into the details, I took all these factors into consideration before developing a real marketing strategy that appealed to my unique needs. A huge publishing house like Tor will market a book much differently than a small indie author with no name.

The Beauty of Dawn by W.D. Seitz (wd seitz)

Building an Online Presence

Establishing an online presence was essential for me. Social media platforms, author websites, and book blogs became my go-to tools for connecting with potential readers. Armed with my marketing knowledge, I developed a content strategy, engaged in meaningful interactions, and built relationships with influencers and reviewers within the YA and fantasy communities. By effectively leveraging online platforms, I was able to generate buzz and create anticipation for my novel’s release.

Instead of trying to post on every single social media platform out there, I chose two to focus on: Instagram and Tiktok. These platforms seemed to be where the most readers for my type of book could be found.

Implementing Effective Marketing Strategies

My marketing degree provided me with a toolbox of strategies and tactics to employ. I utilized email marketing campaigns, organized giveaways, and created engaging book trailers to entice readers. Additionally, I explored collaborations with other authors, participated in virtual book tours, and utilized search engine optimization techniques to enhance the discoverability of my novel. By continually testing and analyzing the results of these strategies, I refined my approach and maximized my marketing efforts.

Embracing the Power of Word-of-Mouth

Word-of-mouth marketing remains one of the most powerful promotional tools. I actively sought reviews from early readers and encouraged them to share their thoughts on various platforms. Positive reviews and recommendations helped generate organic interest and fostered a sense of credibility and trust in my novel. I currently have a promotion running where everybody who leaves a review on Amazon for my book gets entered in a draw to win the first hardcover edition of The Beauty of Dawn.

Did My Degree Pay Off?

Self-publishing my dark YA epic fantasy adventure novel was more than just a publishing journey; it became the ultimate test for my marketing degree. After everything, was it worth it going to school for business? Did it help me in my career and play a hand in making me a successful author?

Well, I do believe that everything I learned in school I could have learned online for much cheaper. The most helpful thing about college and university is that it provides connections in the industry. Because I was going to school for business and not publishing, I don’t think I gained many connections. With that being said, it did give me a framework to follow for anything business-related that I do in life.

So yes, I’m glad I went to school for business and not writing. The experience of self-publishing not only validated my marketing knowledge but also provided invaluable practical insights and skills that will continue to benefit me in future endeavors.

W.D. Seitz is the author of the YA epic fantasy The Beauty of Dawn.

To get more articles like this, sign up at my personal website. Click here to sign up.

Buy my book by clicking here.

--

--

W.D. Seitz
Wayfare
Editor for

W.D. Seitz (Willow D. Seitz) is fantasy and science fiction author/martial artist. The Beauty of Dawn is her first book. willowseitz.com