Secret Photos: seeing stuff the apartment listing doesn’t mention

It sucks getting apartment-catfished. Wayhome Secret Photos show you pics of houses and apartments that ads don’t show you.

Emily
Wayhome: Apartments, homes & communities
2 min readApr 27, 2017

--

“The ad said ‘walk-in closet’ but I think it was lion”

Finding a place to live can feel like fumbling around in the dark

When I got into BU for grad school, I needed to find an apartment in Boston. I lived too far away to visit in person, so I had to make my decision based almost entirely on the Craigslist ad & a few (usually terrible) pics. I hated this: I wanted to be able to imagine my future bedroom & kitchen, but all I had to go in were a few poorly lit photos. I finally enlisted one of my Boston-based friends to visit apartments on my behalf and send me pictures & videos.

Now that I work at Wayhome & see lots of people dealing with the stresses of finding home, I think about that apartment-hunt a lot. Most people recognize that real estate listings rarely tell the whole story–you have to go & see a place in-person. Even if you’re not 500 miles away like I was, this still stinks: most of us have better things to do than burn hours viewing apartments we realize we hate in the first 30 seconds. Getting faked-out on the Internet, whether it’s on OkCupid or Zillow, is the worst.

Wayhome sheds light on what the ad isn’t showing you

We built Wayhome’s home-finding tools to help take the pain out of finding home, and today we’re proud to announce our first step towards saving you from being apartment-catfished: Secret Photos. Now, when you find an apartment or house listing on a site that Wayhome supports, the Wayhome Button will try & find photos of the home that the listing failed to include. This way, you’ll have more to go on than just the advertisement before taking the time to see a place.

I had a pal who was excited to help me with my home-hunt, but most movers aren’t so lucky. We don’t think anyone should have to rely solely on real estate advertisements when home-hunting, and Secret Photos is the first of many steps we’re taking at Wayhome to fix that.

--

--