Meet our Fall Interns

Causeway
Waying In
Published in
3 min readOct 3, 2019

Meet Cassie.

Cassie Whittaker

What do you do at Causeway?

I help manage Chattanooga’s annual Giving Tuesday campaign #CHAgives.

Where did you grow up?

Just outside of Nashville in a small town called White House.

Why did you move to Chattanooga (or stay in Chattanooga)?

I moved to Chattanooga to attend UTC. I toured the campus & city once and fell in love with this truly scenic city. All it took was one trip up Lookout Mountain to decided this was the place for me, but now I know of many more hikes than sunset rock.

What is your favorite spot in Chattanooga?

The quarry on Raccoon Mountain.

Who inspires you?

Mothers of all kinds inspire me. I am lucky to have 2 moms, one of whom is my big sister.

What is the most influential book you’ve ever read?

It’s always the one I am currently reading. It seems like every book I read becomes the “most influential book,” but now I am reading New Power by Henry Timms, one of the founders of Giving Tuesday which directly connects with my work with CHAgives. It has changed my perception of power in ways I didn’t know existed.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where and why?

I would love to go to Morocco. I love going places that feel like I am in a different period of time than the current one. The culture and history in Morocco is incredibly beautiful, not to mention cities like the Blue City (which is my favorite color).

3 random facts about you.

1. I have traveled to 10 different countries.

2. I can eat an entire, large watermelon in one sitting.

3. I’m (almost) blind in one eye.

Find Cassie on Instagram: cassiee_whitt

Meet Kierstan.

What do you do at Causeway?

I am the events intern, which means I am helping coordinate Gratefull 2019.

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Memphis, TN.

Why did you move to Chattanooga (or stay in Chattanooga)?

I moved to Chattanooga to attend The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. I toured the campus and feel in love with the city of Chattanooga immediately.

What is your favorite spot in Chattanooga?

My favorite spot is anywhere that I can hang my hammock.

Who inspires you?

My parents, because they all go after what they want and are always humble about themselves.

What is the most influential book you’ve ever read?

Most recently, I read 10 seconds of Insane Courage by Garret Gravensen. It helped to show me that just a small bit of courage can change your life.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where and why?

Walt Disney World Resorts! I love the idea of creating magic and happiness for all no matter how young or old they may be.

3 random facts about you.

1. I worked at Magic Kingdom Park Arrivals Merchandise at Walt Disney World.

2. I’d like to have a yard big enough to have a garden to grow my own food in.

3. The only seafood I like is crab and lobster.

Find Kierstan on Instagram at @Kierstanszalay

--

--

Causeway
Waying In

Causeway inspires and equips Chattanoogans to develop smarter solutions to our city's toughest challenges.