Meet our new fellows!

Causeway
Waying In
Published in
3 min readJul 24, 2015

Nov 18 2014

We are excited to have two new additions to our fellowship program: Heather Sivley and Jaya Todai. At Causeway, our fellows play a huge part in what we do. It’s not all coffee-fetching and trash-running here; our fellows take ownership over integral parts of our programs. We are lucky to have these two brilliant ladies on our team.

Meet Heather.

Heather has studied Nonprofit Management at UTC, and she brings with her a wealth of experience working on grassroots projects, like the Main Street Bike Co-Op. She spends the majority of her time at Causeway working with the winners of the Causeway Challenge; connecting them to each other, and to the resources they need to make their projects successful. Her attention to detail and unique perspective are always challenging us in the best of ways.

Three questions for Heather:

Where did you grow up?
I grew up in Harrison with my parents and brother. Our neighbors were all family and our yard was a sort of nature sanctuary. We could tell the time of day by which wild animals (turkey, deer, rabbits, raccoons, and lots of birds) were hanging around.

Why did you move to Chattanooga (or stay in Chattanooga)?
Chattanooga has some cool stories to tell about embracing change and connecting communities. I have learned so much through the nonprofit management program at UTC, internships, and volunteer opportunities. I have also gotten to know a lot of people who are still struggling. I’ve stayed here out of wanting to be part of those cool Chattanooga stories, wanting to repay the investment so many teachers and mentors have made in me, and because I feel committed to some folks who are struggling.

What is one surprising fact about you?
I really love Star Trek, The Next Generation.

Meet Jaya.

Jaya is the newest addition to our team. She is a senior at UTC studying Creative Writing. In the short time she has been with us, it is already clear: this girl has ideas. We are honored to have her insights and her energy on our side. She will work directly with our Cause Creators, empowering them to run a successful campaign. She has a knack for story-telling, and we are excited to see how she shapes the story of not only Causeway, but Chattanooga.

Three questions for Jaya:

Where did you grow up?
Born in Houston, TX — lived in 7 different cities (Houston, Austin, Nashville, Lake Jackson, Brownsville, Memphis, Chattanooga). We moved to Chattanooga when I was 9, so I’ve had a lot of different elementary school experiences.

Why did you move to Chattanooga (or stay in Chattanooga)?
After graduating Girls Preparatory School, I accepted an invitation to join the Brock Scholars Program at UTC. I plan to stay here for as long as I can help this city expand thoughtfully. That’s a terrible modifier — what I mean is, I’m excited about the progress we’re seeing in Chattanooga, but I feel that we need voices that are vigilant, mindful of how to bring all the fresh ideas and new cultures together in a meaningful way.

What is one surprising fact about you?
I spent a year reading film scripts before I watched the movies. It taught me a lot about how I imagine these fictional worlds in my head and how directors and producers in Hollywood create sets. The movies in my head were usually better.

Originally published at www.causeway.org on November 17, 2014.

--

--

Causeway
Waying In

Causeway inspires and equips Chattanoogans to develop smarter solutions to our city's toughest challenges.