Meet Our Summer Interns

Causeway
Waying In
Published in
4 min readJul 24, 2015

May 28 2015

Meet Emilie.

Emilie grew up in Peachtree City, Georgia and followed the call of the mountains to Chattanooga. She is an avid rock climber and is passionate about environmental causes, so there is no question that she made the right move. Emilie graduated from Kennesaw State University where she majored in Political Science. At Causeway, Emilie will spend the majority of her time working with our CO.STARTERS for Causes program.

Three questions for Emilie:

What is your favorite spot in Chattanooga?
I can fortunately say that Stringers Ridge is in my backyard. The ability to go for a quick trailrun after work, or just go sit up at the lookout and feel gratitude for where I live, makes this easily my favorite spot in Chattanooga.

Who inspires you?
I am inspired by strong, influential women. Whether they are a political figure, community leader, or strong female climber, seeing their accomplishments not only shows me that it is possible, but motivates me try my hardest.

What is one interesting fact about you?
I am the crazy plant lady; I have over 15 houseplants, 3 large garden beds, and an assortment of potted herbs.

Meet Eric.

Eric is from Huntsville, Alabama. He moved to Chattanooga a few years ago to go to school and play basketball at UTC (Go Mocs!). Eric will be a senior at UTC in the fall, where he is majoring in Nonprofit Management. At Causeway, Eric is our assistant campaign manager, helping people post successful campaigns on our crowd-sourcing platform.

Three questions for Eric:

Who inspires you?
My dad has always been a person to push me higher limits than I thought ever possible. He has really inspired me to further my education and never limit myself.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where and why?
I have always wanted to go to one of the beautiful beaches in Costa Rica. I also aspire to become fluent in Spanish so that would really help in my endeavors.

What is one interesting fact about you?
I like to play an acoustic guitar in my free time.

Meet Juliet.

Juliet comes to us from the Atlanta area. She moved to Chattanooga several years ago to attend Covenant College on Lookout Mountain where she majored in Community Development and English. After a short time away post-graduation she moved back to Chattanooga to gain life experience near her friends and the mountains while she figures out what’s next. At Causeway, Juliet works mostly with the Director of Creative Engagement on a few new projects that will help us better communicate our story.

Three questions for Juliet:

What is your favorite spot in Chattanooga?
My neighborhood, Saint Elmo. It embodies two of my favorite things about Chattanooga: the community and nature. Some of my best friends live within blocks of my apartment. Also, it’s adjacent to Lookout Mountain, which is convenient when I’m craving the outdoors. My street connects directly to Guild Trail, so some days when I’m antsy I’ll stop whatever I’m doing, exit the front door, and immediately start walking up the mountain. It’s the BEST. Lastly, unrelated to my neighborhood but also my favorite, The Farmer’s Daughter rocks.

If you could go anywhere in the world, where and why?
I would go back in time to be a fly on the wall in New York during the Harlem Renaissance. It’s one of my favorite time periods to study poetry, literature, music, and art. This period of intense cultural output was born out of trials that had endured more than a century at the time. The key figures of the Harlem Renaissance turned their experiences into incredible art, literature, and music that shaped our nation’s consciousness in an revolutionary way.

What is something about you that would surprise people?
I play bass and sing in a Chattanooga band called Big Emotions.

Meet Megan.

Megan grew up in Cookeville, Tennessee. She moved to Chattanooga in 2012 to go to UTC, and hopes to plant some permanent roots here after she graduates next year. At UTC Megan is majoring in Nonprofit Management. During her time at Causeway, Megan is helping us stay organized while we grow by implementing our new CRM, helping build our advisor and volunteer networks, and heading-up a fundraising project.

Three questions for Megan:

What is the most influential book you’ve ever read?
A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller — I highly recommend it!

If you could go anywhere in the world, where and why?
I would go to/kayak the Jervis Inlet in British Columbia, Canada because it is quite possibly one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever laid eyes on.

What is something about you that would surprise people?
Instead of coming to college, I almost enrolled in schooling to become a welder.

Originally published at www.causeway.org on May 28, 2015.

--

--

Causeway
Waying In

Causeway inspires and equips Chattanoogans to develop smarter solutions to our city's toughest challenges.