Meet our Teammate(s)

Causeway
Waying In
Published in
7 min readJul 24, 2015

Jun 02 2014

As Causeway is expanding our mission and goals, we are excited to be building a strong team to bring you more creative opportunities to civically engage in Chattanooga. Meet our teammate(s).

Meet Abby.

Abby is our Executive Director. She makes sure we’re headed in the right direction, staying focused on projects and programs that matter. She also makes sure we have the resources and people we need to get there, and encourages everyone to bring their A game every day here at Causeway.

Where did you grow up?

Here in Chattanooga, specifically on Signal Mountain.

Why did you stay in Chattanooga?

I moved back to Chattanooga after being gone for 11 years because it seems like a perfect combination of an exciting “work-in-progress” and never changing, “home-sweet-home”.

What is your favorite spot in Chattanooga?

The Bluffview Art District, specifically that little hidden fountain or having coffee on the patio at Rembrandt’s.

What is one surprising fact about you?

I was one of only 3 kids cut from the 5th grade chorus.

Twitter: agarrisontn | Instagram: abby2150

Meet Heather.

Heather is our Managing Director. She makes sure that everything is running smoothly at Causeway–from managing the logistics of our new programs, to helping current Cause Creators access the resources that they need to be successful. With a background in law, and experience working with a variety of non-profits, Heather helps us work well.

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Savannah, Georgia. Actually, I grew up on a barrier island just outside Savannah, which used to be about 40 minutes from anywhere.

Why did you move to Chattanooga?

I moved to Chattanooga about 9 years ago with my husband, Joe DeGaetano, who grew up here. We met in law school at the University of Georgia. He wanted to come back to Chattanooga because his family is here and my family is pretty close, in GA. I can’t lie — I hesitated at first. People from the outside told me lots of things about how Chattanooga used to be and that we wouldn’t like it here. They could not have been more wrong.

We stay in Chattanooga because it’s been an incredible place to get involved. My husband and I have found great opportunities to get involved in our communities, our professions and our neighborhood. We are happy to be raising our daughter here, attending a neighborhood school, volunteering in our community and getting her involved in all that Chattanooga has to offer. We always say that we are here to stay… and we knew that pretty early on.

What is your favorite spot in Chattanooga?

My very favorite spot is on the river, launching from Coolidge Park on our paddleboards, making the trip around Maclellan island. I also love to be volunteering at my daughter’s school, Normal Park Museum Magnet. I very much love the waterfall trail on the side of Lookout Mountain and to be wandering around the shops and parks of the Northshore.

What is one surprising fact about you?

I’ve been a vegetarian for 25 years.

Meet Chelsea.

Chelsea is our Director of Creative Engagement. She is responsible for effectively communicating the Causeway brand through design, communications and engagement opportunities. She is passionate about designing systems that are easily understood and fun to engage with, from social media campaigns to interactive art installations.

Where did you grow up?

I grew up in Memphis, and other small towns in West Tennessee.

Why did you move to Chattanooga?

I moved to Chattanooga to go to The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. I thought I wanted to go to Auburn, but decided I should check out my in-state options too. I had never been to Chattanooga and knew little to nothing about UTC but I came for a visit on a rainy fall weekend and fell in love with the charm of the Arts District and the foggy mountain views. I was sold.

What is your favorite spot in Chattanooga?

I have two: My front porch and a secluded spot on Suck Creek at the base of Signal Mountain.

What is one surprising fact about you?

I am honestly not grossed out by much of anything… except leftovers, which terrify me. (I am in the process of overcoming this fear).

Twitter: Chelsea_Conrad | Online Portfolio: www.cargocollective.com/chelseaconrad

Meet James.

James is our Entrepreneur in Residence. He founded a mobile oil change company called Change-N-Go in 2013. At Causeway, James heads up our outreach–connecting us to community partners and fostering relationships through our programs and events. On average James runs in to 6.5 people he knows every time he steps out of our office. We can’t imagine a better person to connect us in this city.

Where did you grow up?

Chattanooga!

Why did you stay in Chattanooga?

After a few years away during college, I saw how much the city had grown, how much potential it had, and that I had an opportunity to play a role in making an impact. I wanted the chance to be a part of something bigger than myself.

What is your favorite spot in Chattanooga?

Flying Squirrel. Shout out to my buddies Max and Dan for birthing it.

What is one surprising fact about you?

I’ve never tried coffee.

Twitter and Instagram: @IWroteTheHustle

Meet Trent.

Trent is our Executive Intern. He is currently getting his MBA at The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. At Causeway he is the Money Man–organizing our finances and making sure all of our records are up to date. Basically, he does the work nobody else wants to do, and we are very very thankful.

Where did you grow up?

Harriman, TN, though I never attended any school in the area.

Why did you move to Chattanooga?

I first visited Chattanooga in 2005 for the Head of the Hooch regatta (I rowed crew in high school). Although the weather was terrible and the water was rough, the city had a charm that attracted me enough to come back on a college tour to UTC. Been here since 2007, I love it here. Met my wife here, a majority of my close friends, and of course Causeway.

What is your favorite spot in Chattanooga?

My favorite place to drink beer is on the patio at the Terminal Brewhouse, especially during the warm summer nights. My favorite place to hike is Signal Point, proposed to my wife there, married there and absolutely love the view of the Tennessee River. My favorite place to read or be alone is Renaissance Park in this secret location where I lay in my hammock.

What is one surprising fact about you?

I am an advanced NAUi certified diver, though I probably need to do more to maintain that status

When asked if we should include links to his social media profiles, Trent responded “I don’t do that”.

Meet Savannah.

Savannah is one of our summer interns. She will be a junior at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga majoring in International Studies. Savannah primarily works with the Cause Creators to make sure they are equipped to meet their goals. She also entertains us with stories about her 1 pound dog, Olive.

Where did you grow up?

Pigeon Forge, TN. Okay, honestly, Sevierville (home of Dolly Parton) but I say Pigeon Forge since more people know where that is.

Why did you move to Chattanooga?

School brought me here, but I love the artsy vibe here in Chatt-town.

What is your favorite spot in Chattanooga?

There’s a small dock overlooking the Tennessee River at Coolidge Park. I like to go there when it’s warm out.

What is one surprising fact about you?

I have a strangely keen sense of smell. I can remember the scent of almost every place I go.

Meet Terrence.

Terrence is one of our summer interns. He will be a sophomore at Xavier University in Cincinnati majoring in Business. He helps keep us organized as Causeway is quickly growing. As a thank you, we introduce him to local gems like the Yellow Deli, his new favorite restaurant.

Where did you grow up?

I have grown up and have lived most of my life here in the Scenic City. I was born into a military family at an Air Force base in New Mexico. Transitioning frequently, we relocated to North Carolina. At the age of seven, my family and I moved to Tennessee.

Why did you stay in Chattanooga?

I am currently in school at Xavier University in Cincinnati, but back in Chattanooga for the summer. The atmosphere that surrounds the city fosters an intimate feel within a medium-sized city setting. The southern hospitality is always inviting; I absolutely love it here.

What is your favorite spot in Chattanooga?

My favorite spot in Chattanooga is the downtown Ross’ Landing area. Downtown Chattanooga has gone through a major facelift, and this area represents that positive change. I enjoy the annual Riverbend Festival at which the people of this great city enjoy bands from all different spectrums of music.

What is one surprising fact about you?

My dad was born in New York and my mom was born in the Philippines, so I am half Black and half Asian, although few people can tell.

Originally published at www.causeway.org on May 27, 2014.

--

--

Causeway
Waying In

Causeway inspires and equips Chattanoogans to develop smarter solutions to our city's toughest challenges.