1,000 Followers Celebration!

Patrick Stewart
How To Increase Your Followers Number
4 min readMay 31, 2023

--

Left: Jessica (my wife). Right: Me. (photo by author)

I have a love/hate relationship with self-congratulatory posts. On one hand, I worked my ass off writing, networking, social media posts, running Discord communities, and more. On the other hand, my religious beliefs (Taoism) teach I shouldn’t be ‘showing off’ or even drawing attention to the work I’m doing. I also understand as soon as this article is published, I’ll lose a few followers which means I’ll have to cross the milestone all over again. So, like all humans, I’m a walking contradiction and I’m ok with that.

I’ve crossed the 1,000-follower milestone on Medium after four months and I wanted to write a quick thank you to a few special individuals. No, I won’t be name blasting all 1k of you just for the views, but I will name drop a few writers and friends who helped me along the way. I don’t like it when Medium articles just list people in a giant block, so let’s instead take a moment to reflect on each person.

Oscar Soto ⚡I’m not sure where I’d be without this guy. He gave me a community to join (Medium Writers Club), allowed me to be an editor (HTIYFN), taught me everything about Canva, and introduced me to running a successful Medium publication. Most of my knowledge about this entire platform comes from him or the community he created. So, a huge thank you to Mr. Oscar Soto!

--

--

Patrick Stewart
How To Increase Your Followers Number

Father | Husband | Taoist Learner | Author | Publisher for The Taoist Online | Website: https://thetaoistcorner.net