Followers

Are Followers Important?

Kiki Lu Johnson
How To Increase Your Followers Number
5 min readMar 24, 2022

--

After that first 100, what’s the point?

Image by Pexels on Pixabay

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about metrics.

(Ok, you know I’m going to pinpoint followers, but stick with me here. I had a train in my mind and it didn’t start at that station. I started with a general feeling of malaise.)

There’s a LOT of writers on Medium. Over 100k for sure (though I can’t seem to find more recent than August 2020, which was about 175k). Only about 5–7% of those people make more than $100/month.

I don’t know about you, but I keep coming across people that haven’t even qualified to become part of the MPP! No wonder that number is so low!

And hey, I’m in that same basket right now. I’m poised to make a little over the $70 I made last month. That’s not bad, considering how much I’ve struggled in March. But still.

Posting daily is definitely helpful, and if I were pumping out erotica like I was before, I’d be in a much better position by now. But I’ve seen accounts that claim they make $1k+/month, and they post 2–4 times a week, sometimes about various topics (rarely erotic in nature).

And so, metrics. Because there had to be something…

--

--

Kiki Lu Johnson
How To Increase Your Followers Number

Mother, erotica/romance writer, and gamer. Loves philosophy, psychology, comedy, and of course- sex!