These 4 Free Tools Will Help You Become a Better Writer

If you use them — these tools can make your writing journey much easier.

Nadine
How To Increase Your Followers Number
4 min readMay 3, 2023

--

Photo by hannah grace on Unsplash

I am writing on Medium for over a month now. I know that is not long, but I learned a lot about the usage of tools in that month.

There are a lot of tools that can help you to improve your writing from grammar checkers to productivity tools. The right software makes all the difference in the writing process, especially if you are not a native speaker (like me).

In this article, I have listed the tools that I am using and that helped me the most:

Grammarly

When it comes to writing, grammar is everything. (!)

That’s why Grammarly is one of the most popular writing tools out there. Their software analyzes your writing for grammar, spelling, and punctuation errors, offering suggestions for corrections as you go.

With Grammarly, you can be sure that your writing is clear, concise, and error-free. And the best part? You can use Grammarly on just about any platform, from desktop to phone. I am using the free version, but I have heard that the Premium version should be worth every penny.

Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

Notion

I have written a lot about Notion as a Note-taking tool here and there. It is my absolute favorite app to take notes and organize my life. It is also totally free and available on all your devices.

Notion has an easy-to-use interface and customizable databases. This has changed the way I approach my writing, making it easier to keep track of my ideas, research, and publications. I can create to-do lists, set reminders, and plan out my content calendar all in one place, which helps me stay on top of my writing.

If you have tried Notion and don’t like it other apps might work better for you such as Evernote or Microsoft OneNote.

Photo by Isaac Martin on Unsplash

Hemingway Editor

The Hemingway Editor is a tool that helps you simplify your writing.

The app checks your writing for complex sentences, adverbs, and other issues that might make it hard to read.

With this editor, you can quickly spot problem areas and make changes to improve your style. It also gives you a readability score, which helps you make sure that your writing is easy to understand.

I have received a “Good” readability score for the updated paragraph below. I could probably still make it better, but I like it the way it is now.

Screenshot by the author of the Hemingway website

Before I click “Publish” on any article I re-check my headlines using free Headline analyzers. These tools analyze your headline and give recommendations for the length of your headline, the usage of words, or the use of passive tone (avoid).

I am regularly using the Headline analyzer by Sharethrough or the tools published by Ryan Robinson but there are a lot of others out there to try.

Screenshot by the author from this website

Overall, these four tools have really helped me to start my writing journey and improve my writing along the way.

Grammarly helps me as a non-native speaker to do fewer mistakes, Notion helps me to organize my writing process, the Hemingway Editor helps me to simplify my writing, and the Headline Analyzers help me that people actually click on my articles.

So these are the apps that I use I’d love to hear about the tools you’re using to enhance your writing skills, so please share your thoughts in the comments, and let’s keep the conversation going!

Have you considered joining Medium for $5/month? You’ll gain unlimited access to stories like this and support Medium’s community of writers with a portion of your membership! If you do join, thank you so much!

--

--